With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

To have and to hold.

2006-08-29 - 8:57 p.m.

I love your hands.

They�re tiny and warm and very, very soft. The few times I�ve turned my back towards you in bed I�ve felt little pats and taps and sometimes I�ve stayed turned away just for the pleasure of feeling your little hands exploring my back and trying to get my attention.

Your grip is fierce. There are sections of my hair that are only about an inch long, but you manage to grab them and hold on as if they were welded to your fist. You love grabbing my hair; it makes you smile to have a handful of it. Today you had a good handful and you earnestly levered your way to my face and licked my nose. It wasn�t a big slobbery lick either, just a soft, precise touching of the tip of your tongue.

It always amazes me, how far you can reach and grab things. In a restaurant I carefully place everything beyond your reach, yet before I know it I�m grabbing a soggy paper napkin out of your hand and sweeping bits of it out of your mouth. (And why will you try to eat a napkin, yet reject all my lovingly prepared organic foods? We�ve recently struck out with carrots and apple, but I�ve got banana up my sleeve for tomorrow.) You, clever girl, have even learned that pulling on the table cloth will bring succulent cutlery and waterglasses within grabbing distance.

When you nurse you like to have something in your hand and you�ll frantically pull yourself closer using my shirt or bra. At night I nurse you to sleep and your hand clenches my finger. When you�re full and your jaw falls open you turn your head away from me, but your hand remains and that is how you drift off to sleep, your tiny hand curled in mine.

I love your hands.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland