With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Bathing suit blahs.

2006-08-02 - 10:48 p.m.

So I didn�t want to advertise this to any potential bad people out there, but we�ve been out of town on a mini-vacation this past little while. Saturday we went to Montreal � where we bummed around and had meals with my various relations � then Sunday we continued onwards to Burlington, Vermont for a couple of nights. J really needed a break and I was happy for a change in the old routine as well. I�ll try to post more details of our trip but for now I just want to harp about one thing: see, I�d decided it was finally time bite the bullet and buy a bathing suit.

Before we left I acknowledged that my one-piece is really getting kind of past it and my post-pregnancy body isn�t really rockin� my bikinis just yet. I did some mental math and realized that my only one-piece was, in fact, purchased some time around the beginning of my university career. This would make it � holy crap! Around 15 years old!

To its credit, it still looks pretty good and surprisingly not dated in terms of the style, but I�ve gained, like, over 20 pounds since I bought it so wear it is kind of like squeezing into a sausage casing, and when I take it off all the seams are embossed in my flesh in red lines. Yeah so, both on and off, that�s about as attractive as it sounds. I�ve also noticed that the elastic-y, lycra-ish part isn�t really holding together very well in one patch on the upper abs. It�s probably not that noticeable but I see a slight shade and texture difference when I look in the mirror in it.

So I figure, okay, I�ll be able to have J watch Grommet while I grit my teeth and try on as many suits as need be to find something that flatters. And I was willing to drop some cash on a kick-ass suit. Why not? Amortized over 15 years, any price is a good one for a suit that flatters. I was primarily thinking one-piece but not sold on it for sure; a two-piece that looked good would do (my favourites of those, while newer, are starting to get a little gnarly as well) and I have read several times about the miracles that tankinis are supposed to be for those of us that deal with thick-waists/belly bulges/long torsos* (I�m not as bad as that sounds when I�m at my �normal� weight, but I do admit I�m more rectangular than curvy and have always had to battle that tummy-bulge).

So it�s the end of July � MID FREAKIN� SUMMER, you will note � and I hie off to find the purveyors of swimsuits that I�ve read about. American Eagle? Not available at that location. Old Navy? Only about 5 suits left in the whole store. J. Crew? shipped all their suits away to some outlet to make room for their fall line, now displayed prominently throughout the store. I mean, the hell? It�s the middle of the hottest heat wave of the year, I�m in a city that�s full of tourists, and situated on a giant lake, and NO ONE that�s supposed to have good bathing suits have them in stock? I HATE the rushing of the seasons by stores, especially in the summer.

My favourite? Victoria�s Secret. Supposed to have good suits but apparently they are only available online. Who buys a bathing suit without ever trying it on? That alone is not why they won the prize for bad shopping experience though: I was admiring some of their new, juicy-coloured underwear and asking if they came in a boy-short cut. I was told no, but there was some more new underwear at the front of the store I could look at� but it might not appeal to an older woman like me.

The hell? Hate.

I went to a VS in another mall to buy my 5 pairs of low-rise bikinis, thankyouverymuch. I never did find a suit though, and had to make due with the bikini I had that was in the best shape.

-------------------

* I don�t really get how this is supposed to work though; wouldn�t a suit that covers everything but the belly make it look like it was bulging out even further?

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland