With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Bad cow.

2006-06-07 - 10:17 p.m.

I worry about my nutrition, as it affects my breastfeeding. We don�t go grocery shopping as often as we used to so there are several days at a stretch where my access to fresh fruit is severely limited. Add to this the fact that me drinking milk seems to trigger painful gas episodes in Grommet so I generally abstain from it. Y�all, I love milk, and it�s a great source of calcium and vitamin D. It�s also lower in sugar than my main alternative, which is juice. Yes, I do drink water, but I usually prefer juice. I allow myself very small amounts of milk via cereal and decaf coffee & tea, but that�s usually it.

I�ve noticed I�ve been craving sugar lately too, and indulging the craving a bit more than I should.

This is all a problem when I even find the time to eat. I manage two of three things on most days: breakfast, lunch and a shower. While I am slowly whittling myself down to my �normal� size, I would prefer to do it while eating powerhouse nutritious foods, rather than not really eating enough, and eating the wrong foods to boot.

My other consumption problem? Liquids. I may find a few minutes at noon to scarf down something healthy � today, for instance, I managed no breakfast but a lunch of tomatoes and cukes on whole wheat with some low-fat cream cheese � but it�s equally hard to quaff a beverage with it. And I know darn well I should have at least had some water or something in the first half of the day. While I am chronically dehydrated, I know I should be making an extra effort while breastfeeding since I�ve got that extra avenue for liquids to leave my body.

This will be a busy few days coming up � tomorrow I�ve got to get gifts for the two showers and housewarming I�ll be attending in the near future, then we�ll be helping with my mother�s yard sale on Friday and Saturday, followed by two of those aforementioned gift-giving events � but I�m hoping we can sneak in a trip to the grocery store. After all, Grommet�s got over a month and a half to go before she should be starting solids at 6 months, so it�s my job to make sure the milk that goes into her now is quality stuff.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland