With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Race weekend.

2006-05-26 - 10:19 p.m.

This is shaping up to be a busy few days so I figured I�d better post while I have the chance.

This weekend is the National Capital Race Weekend and I�m registered for the 10K again. Note, I haven�t run since the last National Capital Race Weekend a year ago. This year I expect to walk it instead of run it and the main reason I�m even registered is it seems that it has evolved to mean a lot to my father and his sense of self-worth or something. He called at 10:00 pm - way past our bedtime - one night a couple of months ago to ask if I�d be running or if he�d be running against the clock this year. In the first place, we�d asked him not to call after 8:00 pm just a week earlier; in the second, HELLO, I�d had a c-section not that long ago, and with a new baby in the house I had bigger things to concern myself with; and in the third, what did it matter if he was going to run the thing anyway?

I�ve told him a few times that I�m not running this year, but he�s already said to me, and to my brothers and step-mother, that he doesn�t believe me and thinks it�s some sort of trick. Just like last year he thought it was a trick when I told him I wouldn�t be training because we were trying to conceive and the fertility doctor told me I could exercise but shouldn�t to the extent that would be required to train for the 10K. In the end, I was already pregnant when I ran it last year and, though it was too early to confirm, I deliberately slowed down when I was feeling like I was pushing too hard since there was the possibility the Clomid had worked and I suspected I was pregnant.

I registered thinking it would be a fun Father�s Day present, to get the plaque put on the family trophy and tell him he legitimately won �cause I�d entered and walked it. To be honest, he�s been such a jerk about the whole thing, I�m tempted not to bother. Tempted, but I know I will do anyway. If for no other reason than a couple of people sponsored me (it raises money for cancer research) and it wouldn�t be right not to do the circuit.

So, Friday evening, visitin with some friends; Saturday morning - the GREAT GLEBE GARAGE SALE (you have to be from here to appreciate that); Saturday evening, the 10K; Sunday morning, get the house ready to be shown to prospective buyers and move some stuff to storage; Sunday afternoon, volleyball at a friend's (J will play and I'll watch - no fan of team sports am I). It makes me tired just thinking about it!

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland