With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Wha? Wha? Waaachoooo!

2006-05-04 - 10:25 p.m.

Itchy, watery eyes, sneezing, runny nose� WTF? I feel like one of those ads for allergy meds, except I can�t, you know, take any of �em (pssst� did I mention I�m breastfeeding?).

I do not think of myself as a person who suffers from allergies. In fact, I so determinedly do not think of myself as a person who suffers from allergies that, apparently, when I turned to J and said in a voice of incredulous dismay, �Why, I think I might be allergic to something that�s around in the air this time of year (pollen anyone?). Do you think maybe I have (gasp!) allergies?� it was FOR THE FOURTH YEAR IN A ROW.

Imagine my surprise.

Yes my friends, although studies have shown that us country-raised bumpkins suffer far fewer allergies as adults, apparently I�m a late bloomer and am getting seasonal allergies that get worse every year: I am, in fact, destined to be one of those wan-looking, Kleenex-toting, red-eyed, unhealthy-looking allergy sufferers that dread the spring. And this is very, very hard for me to imagine, because, as you may recall I hate the winter and greet each spring with such joyous relief it�s all I can do to not dance naked in the streets the first day it hits 20 degrees Celsius.

I don�t care; I�m still not going to learn to skate and the wistful longing to be able to peel my face open and scratch it from the inside is still worth enduring if it means six glorious months of sunshine on my skin and warm breezes over my sandaled toes.

------------------

Oh, and, May the 4th be with you. (Have you ever heard that before? You have? So I'm the only person who heard it for the first time today? Righty-ho.)

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland