With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

First shots/first visit to work.

2006-04-11 - 9:35 p.m.

Yesterday Grommet got her first set of inoculations. Despite my attempt to lessen the pain by using Emla patches, she screamed bloody murder and the doctor said she didn�t think that the patches actually helped since they numb the skin but not the muscle the needle goes into. Poor little squeaker. Her daddy�s taking her to the next round in a couple of months.

Despite my fears though, she wasn�t cranky for the rest of the day � which we spent at Nana�s house � and she was practically buoyant today. She grinned at me when she woke up for the day (at 11:00 am! Yes, you may hate me, but just a little bit.) and since it was so warm and sunny I decided to do a big tour with her and brought her in to meet my coworkers.

The Grom is not a particularly smiley baby, but nor is she particularly fussy either. I�d have to say she�s pretty mellow and she sleeps a ton. I�d guess she actually snoozes a good 18 hours out of 24 (I can feel the hate for me welling up again, can�t I?). People at work remarked how rested I looked and I told them truthfully that I�m getting more sleep now than when I was at work. Of course, Grommet charmed the heck out of them all, bestowing smiles on a select few and gazing wide-eyed at the rest. Wherever we went we drew a crowd and the compliments on how beautiful she is, how perfect her complexion, how lovely her eyes, how she looks like a �Gerber baby�, etc. flew thick and fast. I just nodded and smiled and agreed with them all.

Really, how could I not?

What can I say?  She’s adorable and I can’t deny it!

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland