With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

End of season shopping and escaping not-unscathed.

2006-03-31 - 2:43 p.m.

I got a smokin' end-of-season deal on snow pants (technically I believe they�re snowboarding pants) a few days ago. They were originally over $110 and I paid $25 and change including tax. Now, you may recall I hate the winter, but I've been meaning to get some for years to walk to work in in the winter, or for when J cajoles me out onto the Canal, etc. Plus, I figure when Grommet gets big enough to learn to skate or even make snowmen I'll have to go outside in the winter at least sometimes for recreation.

I also purchased some clunky, warm, big-ass winter boots on sale. I�m all set for the next few winters of park-going.

-----------------------------------------

Yesterday I got out the sling that I�d purchased a few days ago and tried it out. See for yourself (sorry it�s a bit dark):

Snug as a bug?

Grommet didn�t seem to mind it for the short stretch she was in it and I�m glad to have something to save my arms when she�s persnickety and not wanting to be put down. I hope to use it around the house and when we�re, say, out and about and the stroller is just not doing it for her.*

* She was fussing in the stroller the other day and a store clerk leaned over to look at her and said, �Aw, poor thing. It�s so hard being pushed around in the comfiest bed in the world, isn�t it?�

-----------------------------------------

I�ve got 9 pounds left to go before I hit my pre-pregnancy weight. I haven�t been dieting or getting even as much exercise as I used to before I stopped teaching at the beginning of December, but it�s still coming off. I can fit into the largest of my pre-pregnancy pants!

Don�t hate me.

If it�s any condolence, I found a stretch mark yesterday, and wouldn�t you know it, it�s right in my tattoo. It�s not obvious unless you know what it used to look like. I had to check a picture of me leaving for the hospital to confirm that it even happened while I was pregnant. Sure enough, there it is. You see how one of the sides of the inside circle is wider? That�s a stretch mark.

Drat!

Still, I can�t complain, it didn�t ruin the tattoo. I wonder if I would have gotten more of them if I hadn�t given birth that day?

Hey, now that I�m checking old belly shots, I�m finding that stretched bit way before I noticed it. Even in December it�s there.

Double drat!

Good thing I didn�t notice or I would have wasted way too much time worrying how many more I�d get.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland