With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Blink: 1 Month.

2006-02-28 - 12:14 p.m.

I can�t believe it�s been over a month already! You�d think that having each day be much like the preceding one would make it seem like time was dragging but it�s just shooting by. Grommet has gained the two pounds I�ve lost since the 10-day mark and is now 9 lbs, 11 ounces as of yesterday. I find it very cool that every since ounce, every hair, every cell, every organ in her body, the muscle, bone, sinew, fat and flesh, have been built with building blocks that have come from me � first through the umbilical cord, now through my breast milk.

She looks bigger too; more like an �infant� than a �newborn�. I suspect in a few weeks I�ll think of her as looking like a �baby�, which in my mind is a bit bigger and chunkier than an infant.

My mom was visiting yesterday and got a smile out of her which I was lucky enough to capture on film:

Is she not the cutest thing EVER?

The next few days should be a bit more challenging than usual: J is out of town at a conference until Thursday night. I usually look forward to his return in the evenings, even if he�s only around for a few hours on some days before he has to go to bed. During those few hours he holds the baby and I get a break and a chance to do things like shower and figure out what to do for dinner. It�s at least one poopy diaper a day that I don�t have to change. Also, we�ve been doing her bath together the last couple of times and it�s been much easier to have one person hold the slippery wiggler while the other does the soaping, scrubbing and rinsing. Bathtime became a much quieter affair with the new regimen. I wish I�d thought to do the bath last night �cause she�ll definitely need one before Friday. Oh well, we�ll get by. I�ve got a couple of friends coming over tonight and we�re going to order in.

In other, HUGE news, my mother has asked her boyfriend to move out and he�s agreed. It wasn�t precipitated by anything drastic and I won�t go into details, but it�s been very civilized and they�ve agreed to wait until it�s a bit warmer in a month or two. In the meantime, he�s going to start looking for a place. I can�t really believe it since there have been a few times in the past that he�s done things I would have kicked him out for instantly, yet they stayed together. He�s just back from a 3-month visit home to his family so maybe that had something to do with it. Still, I�ll believe it when I see it.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland