With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

The 200-pound Baby Syndrome.

2006-02-20 - 12:20 p.m.

I knew that babies like being held. One thing I had not expected was how much I would like holding Grommet. I often fall victim to what I�ve come to call The 200-pound Baby Syndrome. It starts out innocently enough � I�m feeding her, then she falls asleep stretched across my lap in my arms. Then, I marvel at how beautiful and angelic she looks, and how peacefully she�s sleeping. At that point I realize that I can�t bear to put her down. What if I disturb her and she wakes up unhappy? What if she feels rejected by being taken away from my warm body and put down in a not-yet-warmed bed? Before I know it, I start to have thoughts like, �J will be home in only an hour � he can take her from me then and put her down for me so that I won�t be the one to have to do it.�

It�s like the baby weighs 200 pounds and I can�t lift her to budge her off me. I know I should � doing so would let me write a journal entry, or shower, or eat something � but I just can�t bring myself to do it.

Watching us together, my mom said, �It�s too bad she won�t remember these tender moments.� In a way I agree, but at least I will remember them. After all, I�m counting on them getting me through the period of time just after she learns the word �No.�

-----------------------

Psst, Nancy may be having her baby RIGHT NOW! Go wish her luck!

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland