With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

4 years.

2006-02-14 - 8:31 p.m.

Today is Valentine�s Day, and tomorrow I will have known the man who I love and is the father of my child for four years (this is how we met). About 6 months ago we passed the �longest relationship I�ve ever been in� mark and there was a time I thought that 3 to 3 � years was my maximum time I could be happy in a relationship.

I couldn�t have been more wrong.

I am speaking honestly when I say that not a day goes by that I don�t at some point marvel at how lucky I am to have met and married J. I feel like the cleverest person in the world for having scooped him up when I got the chance. And I keep thinking that I couldn�t be more in love with someone than I am with him, right now.

It turns out I was also wrong about that.

Being pregnant and having Grommet have given me the opportunity to see even greater depths of my husband: how selfless and steadfast he is when faced with responsibilities, how much our little family means to him, his delight in snuggling the baby after a 12-hour day at work, and his great capacity for love and patience. I always thought he�d be a great dad and I could tell I was right, even in the first few days of Grommet being in the world.

Being housebound with the Grom, I haven�t been able to get out and get him a gift. I haven�t been able to make any grand plans for celebration for tomorrow. Let�s face it, I�m lucky if I get a chance to shower these days. Ultimately though, we don�t need to exchange gifts. Our intent is to get takeout from one of our favourite restaurants and eat at home. I have a feeling it�ll still be one of the best anniversaries yet, �cause it�s the first one that�ll include our sprout.

Happy anniversary Sweetheart. I can't wait to see what the next four years brings.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland