With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Things can change on a dime, eh?

2005-12-23 - 10:47 a.m.

Wow, things can change quickly.

It�s only been two weeks since my last midwife appointment and up to that point my weight gain had been just under a pound a week and my blood pressure was a nice low 113 over 53. In fact, I�d felt quite smug about being on target for a 135 pound weight gain overall, and with such low blood pressure and good health. Yesterday? I�d gained 7 � pounds in the last two weeks and my blood pressure was 137 over 83 � the highest it�s ever been in my life.

When they added in the fact that I�ve got some trace protein in my urine, my feet and ankles (as I�d mentioned) had gotten puffy, and I�d had a headache last weekend for the first time since getting pregnant, they decided to have me go in to the hospital for a consult. I�ve been told that it�s �very, very, very unlikely� that I�ll actually be at work until my projected last day of Jan. 27th and that it�s possible that today might be my last day depending on what the test results say. I�m looking at much more frequent blood pressure monitoring (they�re going to give me a machine) and the feeling is that yesterday�s readings may be a fluke but it�s better to get it checked out. If it is pre-eclampsia than they think it would be just the early stages so if I�m careful and get adequate rest Grommet and I should be okay and be able to go to term.

I�ve notified HR and sent a heads-up to my boss that I will, at the least, be leaving earlier than projected and that it�s possible that today is, in fact, my last day.

It�s not all doom-and-gloom though, those acrobatics I�ve been feeling lately have, in fact, been the Grom doing some spinning and he is now head down. All the better to push her out into the world when the time comes (hopefully not before four weeks from now).

So, I�ve got lunch plans with my father and step-mother today, then I�ll be sitting in the hospital for most of the afternoon, waiting around to find out if there was a good reason for the scare. In the meantime, I�m trying to put my files in order here at my desk.

Wish me luck and Merry Christmas. I�ll try to report back as soon as I know anything more.

---------------------

Edited to add: Okay, I spent about 2 1/2 hours in the hospital. They took my blood pressure (back down to a reasonable 121 over 73), 3 vials of blood and a urine sample, and strapped an external fetal monitor to me.

The verdict?

Everything was within "acceptable" parameters but the trends disturbed them. I had a trace of protein in my urine, plus a higher level of uric acid than they'd have liked. I'd had really low blood pressure, and now it was a bit higher. The blood results were still good but not ideal...

The upshot was that they want me to take it easy as much as I can over the next while, go back to the midwife this coming week for additional blood pressure and urine testing, and go from there. If I suddenly develop symptoms such as seeing spots and a blinding headache, well, then I'm in trouble and should page the midwife on my way to emergency.

Hopefully it won't come to that. I will, however, have to put the kibosh on my plan to go take some classes at the gym this week. And I snickered out loud when I was told to avoid stress for the next few days. Stress? Over Christmas weekend? With my sister Spider coming? Are they kidding me?

My midwife did say that at least I had a good excuse not to engage in any of the normal sort of conversations that seem inevitable with Spider. Easier said than done though.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland