With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

It's a...

2005-10-04 - 5:43 p.m.

I realize some people may be tuning in, breathless with anticipation, to find out if Grommet is a boy or a girl. And we do have a piece of paper with the ultrasound technician�s best guess on it (though she wasn�t positive � it said, �I think it�s a��).

Alas. My hands are tied. My lips are sealed. I cannot say. And it is killing me. This space is my outlet for things that must be left unsaid in my normal day-to-day life, yet I am bound by my promise to J.

Here�s the thing, J is of the firm conviction that we tell everyone, or we tell no one. If we don�t want to tell certain people (such as his sister who we know would be unable to resist buying the most gender-biased type stuff for us), we are not allowed to tell anyone.

�Not even the internet?� I gasped in horror.

�Not even the internet.� was the firm response.

You see, I have, like, three real-time friends that read this. And they know or are married to other friends, and once a few friends know he doesn�t think it�s right that family shouldn�t know.

Gak! How will I manage to keep this in? I�m spending the weekend at my best friend�s place in a couple of weeks. How am I supposed to keep this quiet? What about my mom who wants to buy stuff for us? And what about friends and coworkers that have offered hand-me-downs if the Grom is the same sex as their children? HOW CAN MY SCOTTISH SOUL RECONCILE TURNING DOWN FREE STUFF?!?

But there are people I just do not want to tell that he would want to tell and I can�t expect him to keep it a secret if I don�t.

It�s a terrible quandary for me.

For now all I can say is, �It�s a baby!�

(Hmph. That�s kind of anticlimactic and nowhere near as fun as spilling the beans would have been.)

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland