With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Diet, the weighting game, and doing the Mashed Potato

2005-09-20 - 2:50 p.m.

I just had a totally sugary doughnut, so Grommet should be doing the Can Can shortly. Heh.

You see, feeling virtuous after my consumption of a fruit with a whole-grain cereal for breakfast and then a small piece of lean protein paired with some green beans for lunch, followed by an orange for a snack, I�d given myself mental permission to have a certain doughnut downstairs at Tim Hortons (an orange stick if you must know)� but it wasn�t there and close questioning revealed that they don�t carry it right now. Feeling totally gypped I looked for a suitable substitute and ended up with the most sugary confection I could find � a cruller that had been dipped in that liquid sugar stuff, and then had the top dipped in the chocolate glaze.

It seemed like a good idea at the time, but now I feel kind of bleah and am regretting the choice. It wasn�t a particularly tasty doughnut, just sweet, sweet, and more sweet.

Oh, but there�s the first kick. At least there�s one advantage.

For those wondering, I�ve been managing to keep my weight pretty much under control up to this point and by 19 weeks had gained an appropriate and not-at-all-outrageous eleven pounds. I have friends who�ve gained that in their first trimester so I think I�m doing okay and most of the charts put me will within the range of healthy and normal. I�ll weigh myself tomorrow at the gym to see what my tally�s like this week. My midwife doesn�t weigh me � she says there�s no correlation between maternal gain and infant health so there�s no point � but I�m thinking there has to be a correlation between maternal gain and maternal health, surely? Since without the pregnancy factor there�s a correlation between health and body composition? If nothing else I�d think that it would be more likely that my feet would get sore if I start carting around an extra fifty pounds on them?

I haven�t had what I�d consider significant cravings yet. Sure there are times I want sugar, but I know a woman who couldn�t stop eating cucumbers for awhile when she was pregnant. She�d go to the grocery store and load up her cart with a dozen cucumbers and eat them all in an evening or two, then have to go back to buy more. Now that�s a craving! I�ve had NOTHING like that. I noted an increase in my tolerance for spicy food in the first trimester but I didn�t seek it out often, or eat larger-than-usual quantities of it � I just ate a few things that were a bit spicier than was usual for me and didn�t feel the burn like I normally would.

--------------------------------

I made mashed potatoes last night and after rolling my eyes in paroxysms of delight after my first sample, I thought about the following:

Making good mashed is really quite easy� so why is it so rare to find up-to-snuff mashed at a restaurant? Seriously, a little bit of butter, some milk, salt & pepper and maybe throw in some chives and/or parsley if you�ve got it. Take the beaters to it or squish the heck out of it with a masher. That�s it. Yet most restaurant mashed potatoes taste like they�ve been mashed with water or something. Yech.

Just thought I�d throw that out there.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland