With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Playing the pregnancy card.

2005-09-09 - 9:57 a.m.

Ha HAH! An advantage to being pregnant discovered.

My security pass at work expired this week so, while I can get in and out of the building where the guards check the passes, I can�t get on and off my floor because my pass no longer deactivates the electronic locks. The big disadvantage of this is that the washrooms are outside the secure section, and if I�m not zipping off to the washroom, I�m going to and from the fridge near there to get or return my milk. This means having to borrow a pass from a co-worker every time I want to leave and come back.

I was supposed to get my new pass yesterday or the day before. This morning? Still no pass. BUT, I called (�As a pregnant woman and having to go to the bathroom all the time, it�s kind of a pain to have to borrow someone�s pass constantly��), and they�re going to bump me up in the queue. Yay for small victories!

-----------------------------------

Grommet is already taking after her dad as a kid and being a brat. She can be kicking to beat the band when he�s out of the room but the instant he�s beside me? Nada. I know it�s probably too early for J to feel anything from outside but I�d like to at least try, and a co-worker has told me that the early vibrations that are too faint to be picked up with a hand on the belly can often be felt or even heard with an ear on the belly. I totally want to try this out.

J needs a pick-me-up these days; the poor guy has an absolutely miserable cold. Tonight I�m planning on making him some soup.

-----------------------------------

Tomorrow I�m having lunch with my sister in-law and a mutual friend. In the evening J and I are supposed to be going to his dad�s for dinner with his sister�s family as well. This should all be fun and I should be looking forward to it, so why do I feel so mutinously bratty myself? (Maybe that brat-like tendency that the Grom takes after is mine, and not his dad�s.) I know the sister in-law is going to ask all kinds of questions about my pregnancy and why shouldn�t she? She�s nice and she�s curious and I�m carrying her brother�s child. Yet I�m cringing in anticipation of it and I already am trying to tell myself to be nice and open and answer her questions instead of answering in unenlightening monosyllables like a truculent teenager. (�How�re you feeling?� �Good.�, �You�re still teaching at the gym?� �Yep.�, �How�s that going?� �Fine.� (obnoxious eye-roll)) Must. Maintain. Self-control. And be nice� even if I hate sharing sometimes.

Also, J�s dad is making ham, which I�m not fond of to begin with, and he always serves it with a chemical-y pineapple glaze from a can and scalloped potatoes from a box. I don�t mind this combination once in a while and, even if I don�t like it, I�m usually a very good guest and will eat whatever�s put in front of me, and I know I should be grateful that having to eat food served to me is the worst of my problems to bellyache about when others are homeless in the wake of Katrina, but still, I�m totally turned off the very idea of this particular meal (and what is a journal for if not to catalogue the minutiae of one�s self-centric existence? Wah, wah, poor me, having to eat ham! *shudder*). I think of the nitrates and the chemicals going into my body and being passed along to Grommet and I recoil from the idea. Maybe I can sneak some food beforehand and eat very little there, or even play the pregnancy card again? It�s well known that pregnant women get food aversions, right? Right?

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland