With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

One trimester down, two more to go.

2005-07-27 - 9:30 a.m.

If the majority of sites and books I read are to be believed on the subject, my first trimester ended this week and I�m at the dawning of the second. This (naturally) has me both freaked out and excited. In just over six months J and I will be becoming parents if all goes well!

Of course, the most massive changes to my body will be taking place, not to mention the whole labour-and-delivery thing, before that happens. Right now, the casual observer still can�t tell I�m pregnant and most of J�s friends still don�t know � not even the ones that accompanied us to the gym yesterday. Despite my earlier fears, I�m still fitting into the clothes I wore before I lost that ten pounds a year or so ago and my boobs, as I�ve mentioned before, aren�t giving me away either. I�d imagine, however, that it�s inevitable that in this upcoming trimester of fast fetal growth I will be becoming very obviously pregnant.

My ultrasound for the nuchal translucency test is this Friday so we�re hoping to have the results from it and from the blood tests back soon so we�ll feel comfortable sharing our news with the world. Well, technically I suppose I am sharing all my news with the world already since the internet isn�t exactly contained solely on my computer screen, but I mean the world of people we know and see all the time. None of J�s friends, for instance, even know I have this journal. A few of mine do, but not many and of those that know, well, not very many are the online journal-reading type.

Anyway, about that clothes-fitting thing� I made of bit of an error in judgment at the Festival this past weekend. You see, I wore my usual shorts there and they have always been very loose and low-rise on me. Even at almost 3 months pregnant they are, in fact, still loose on me. However, I knew it would be getting cooler once the sun when down so I sensibly brought pants to change into. You see where this is going? These pants, um, you see, they�re a bit, shall we say, snugger. Form-fitting, if you will. They�ve been very comfortable and have never been too tight during the couple of years I�ve owned them so I didn�t really think about it: I just tossed them into my bag. Big. Mistake.

Man, did I have to suck it in to get them done up. Worse, the fly closure is Velcro. Thank goodness there�s also a string criss-cross tie at the top. Once I�d laced up the tie the Velcro wasn�t in quite as much danger of ripping apart but I was still very much aware that it was threatening to. I made it through the evening (standing was a lot safer than sitting and I had hike up my pants whenever I wanted to sit down) but let me tell you, when I got to the car for the hour-long drive home, all bets were off. When I loosened the tie and let myself relax there was a good three inch-gap in the waistband at the top. I washed them this weekend then they�ll be joining the box of clothes I�m starting to put away until after I�ve (hopefully) regained my pre-pregnancy weight. I�m optimistically aiming for mid-to-late next summer. Let�s hope that when next summer arrives I don�t read this in my archives and laugh at what I dreamer I was.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland