With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Takin' it easy, 9 weeks (!), and cheap icy goodness.

2005-07-06 - 9:26 a.m.

I�m staying home today. I�ve had a mini-migraine since yesterday and now that I can�t take anything for it I�m leery of leaving the house and it getting worse. Compounding the problem is the fact that I feel vaguely nauseous all the time but when I get a migraine coming on, once the nausea kicks in I�m usually really in trouble, so I don�t have a good grasp of what�s causing what and can�t separate these mixed signals. To be on the safe side I�m working by proxy � assigning my work for the day to my capably co-op student. I sent details over email already and have talked to her to clarify instructions so she should be okay.

It�s a little frustrating because I don�t feel I�ve really had a chance to shine in this job yet and was looking forward to some of my tasks today which really play to my strengths. Oh well, I should have plenty of other opportunities over the next while to demonstrate that I do indeed know what I�m doing.

In other news, Grommet hit 9 weeks yesterday and looks like a baby (okay, kinda like a baby) at last. It�s kind of freaky to think that over the next 3 weeks he�ll be developing by leaps and bounds and all her major �stuff� will be in place at the end of it, with just growing and maturing of organs etc. left to do after that. The end of the first trimester is fast approaching. We�ll try to hold off telling people until after the prenatal screening is done but it�s getting harder to keep it a secret as our confidence grows in the pregnancy�s viability, and as things to get excited about (such as booking our first ultrasound at the end of this month) start happening. At the gym I�m going to have to give it away to my classes soon as the literature says I should start modifying some of my exercises at the beginning of the second trimester. For example, I shouldn�t be lying flat on my back for chest, tricep, or ab work soon, and my class includes all three. Once I start inclining the bench it�ll be game over, that cat is outta that bag.

In still other news, I�m in heaven! Like Sars at Tomato Nation, I�ve noticed the growing scarcity at the corner stores of the frozen treats that I enjoyed as a kid. It�s hard to find small ice cream sandwiches or just plain fudgesicles these days. Everything is �Super Fudge!� or some such thing. It�s not only the nostalgia factor that has me looking for the reasonably small-sized nuggets of frozen goodness either: as a woman trying not to gain too much weight normally, or outstrip what�s considered a healthy weight gain during pregnancy by too much, I want the small frozen treats. Well guess what! The local corner store not only sells 1% for a staggeringly low $3.79 for four litres, they have the original fudgesicles for FIFTY-EIGHT CENTS including tax. And remember, these prices are in Canadian. Woot! I�m so going to be trotting down there during the dog days of summer. I�m trying to walk more so that I get more gentle exercise and they, coincidentally, are not that far out of the way if I feel overheated and like I want to reward myself. I don�t care if it negates some of the walk � a girl�s gotta have some indulgences while she�s pregnant and I�ve been eating a lot of sprouts, believe me.

Speaking of sprouts, I suppose I oughtta go feed Grommet some breakfast. I�m not normally a breakfast eater but I have to remember that a steady stream of nutrients will benefit the Grom and my blood sugar is probably low after 12 hours of not eating.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland