With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

I�m ba-aack!

2005-06-19 - 11:29 a.m.

I may indeed type up some of what I wrote this past week, but in the meantime I really want to do an update on the pregnancy before too many changes start occurring and my current state fades from memory. This might get a little graphic so if you�re a certain former sidekick I�m warning you, this may be more information about me than you want to envision�

I�m now officially at 6 and a half weeks. Grommet is the size of a lentil this week, has a small proto-heart, and looks, apparently, a little bit like a tiny tadpole.

I always knew that each pregnancy is different so I shouldn�t have any hard-and-fast (pardon the pun) preconceptions about it before I was actually knocked up. Yet I�ve found a few things have been wholly unexpected so far. The difficulty sleeping through the night I�ve already talked about. I expected to be really, really tired, not more alert than usual (i.e. snoring softly and drooling) at 3am. Of course, the tired phase may yet be coming.

I expected that my boobs would hurt. Everyone (for example, Zoot) seemed to mention sore boobs as an early sign, so I was faithfully groping myself every cycle in an attempt to discern whether I was pregnant or not. My boobs have not yet gotten really sore and it�s well past the time that the pregnancy tests have confirmed my �with-child� status. What I have experienced, boob-related, is kind of hard to describe. They don�t hurt but from early-on they have felt different. A little tender and sensitive, particularly the nipples. I�m much more aware of them than usual. When I shift position in the night the brushing-up-against-things brings me just slightly out of sleep. Going bra-less around the house in my PJs is a less attractive option than it used to be. When I grope myself now � which I still do regularly � it�s to try to discern if this sense of different-ness is being caused by them growing or not. A delighted J has been confronted with me hoisting them at him �machine gun jubbly� style more than once to solicit his opinion. To my eye, they mostly look the same. Sometimes I think maybe they�re a bit bigger, most times not. Certainly I�m not straining any of my bras. To my hands, however, they feel bigger. Does that make any sense?

Morning sickness; this I got before the first test which wasn�t even positive yet. I�ve been extremely lucky that I haven�t been throwing up, just feeling a bit unsettled in my tum from time to time. However, I�ve read warnings about constipation becoming a problem for some people early on and I�m hear to tell you that that�s not universal, at least not for me at this stage. Since last Tuesday when, I kid you not, the people running my course served me BEAVER* for lunch, I�ve been having the, uh, opposite problem. Sort of a castor�s revenge instead of Montezuma�s revenge. Since coming home again it�s died down a bit but has by no means totally disappeared. This may also have been contributed to by the shift in diet while I was gone (yummy, non-rodent-containing four-course dinner each and every night anyone?) and the fact that I�m eating way more fruit and veggies than normal, and drinking more milk despite being slightly lactose-intolerant.

I haven�t been pigging out as I know many women are tempted to do, or even been as hungry as I expected to be. My mantra has been �nutrient dense� when it comes to food lately. Today I had a decadent dutchie doughnut and a decaf with lots of milk that J had brought home from Tim Horton�s for me. This was the first coffee, even decaf, that I�ve had in the last few weeks. I�ve replaced this habitual vice with milk, calcium-enriched orange juice and/or extra water in the mornings. Desserts have actually lost some of their appeal for me. If it�s good for Grommet, I try to eat it; if it�s empty calories, I feel I can�t afford those calories on top of the extras I�m consuming that are good for Grommet. Because my eating habits often meant a coffee and muffin mid-morning and a yogurt and citrus fruit mid-afternoon and nothing else until dinner, my diet has had to radically change to spread out my consumption more evenly over the day. As a result, even though it�s generally healthy food I�ve been eating (with a special emphasis on protein and calcium), I feel like I�m Constantly. Putting. Food. In. My. Mouth. And truthfully, it�s already getting a bit tiring, even if it isn�t particularly fattening food. Oh well, I�m sure that soon enough I�ll just be ravenous all the time and won�t complain then about having to eat.

I have a feeling that a lot of what I�ve written today will change over the next little while so this may be a case of �be careful what you wish for� but honestly, the pregnancy for me at this point is mostly intellectual. I�m excited, and think and read about pregnancy constantly, yet at the same time it doesn�t feel �real� for me yet. One thing about getting stronger, more stereotypical and unmistakable symptoms will maybe be bringing home a bit more just how much our lives are about to change. Of course, I�ll keep y�all updated.

Oh hey, as an aside, J and I got a digital camera yesterday. This will inevitably mean belly shots will be forthcoming. I won�t go too hog-wild with posting pics though unless some curious and generous reader wants to go to my Profile section and pay to upgrade my Diaryland status from �Gold� to �Super Gold� and thus give me more server space. Then I�d probably feel obligated to do so.

--------------------------------

* Yes, literal beaver; the large rodent that�s on the Canadian nickel. I�ll go into more details when I talk about the past week, but for now suffice it to say that our course unexpectedly contained a lot of Aboriginal teachings.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland