With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Holy S*$%!!!!

2005-06-08 - 10:03 a.m.

�Continued from yesterday.

The following was written on Tuesday, May 31, 2005. It won�t be posted until after I tell a few certain people in person (note the foreshadowing). But don�t be mad Internet, I still love you and you�re still finding out earlier than a lot of family and �real time� friends. I don�t want to tell a lot of casual friends before the magic 3-month mark and I�ve had a chance to take the tests for a bunch of stuff. But you�ve been following along this journey with me so how can I not tell you early? How can I not share this news? And how better to voice my hopes and fears?

Tuesday

There are two lines.
Two fucking lines!

Yes, one of them is still fainter than the other but dude, TWO FUCKING LINES!!!!

I am at work on my second day in this job and I am trying to appear all focused and professional but I am freaking the fuck out!

Isn�t if strange how you could want something, and try for a year to get it, and finally resort to drugs for it, yet when it happens you are in no way shape or form prepared? I am trying to wrap my head around it and I am failing miserably. My head, it might explode! And I�m stopping myself from going nuts Googling everything on pregnancy that exists on the web, because once I start I�ll be useless here at work today. I�m trying not to dwell on telling J; I�m trying not to let my mind get occupied with devising cool ways to tell my family; that way madness lies, or at least my eyes might well up and hey, I�m at work here. I�m still trying to look professional when I meet people I didn�t meet yesterday.

My thoughts today are kind of like this:
Oh yes, I have to get to work on that paper. I should find out what my new boss has in mind for me to do today as well. OhmygodohmyGodohmyGOD! Yep, where did I put that presentation? What should I be eating? Is it okay that I had that decaf this morning? Should I be searching out some milk to go with my lunch? I really should see where my boxes are at from my last office � they should have been here before I got here. I can�t wait to tell J!

Needless to say, I�m not as productive today as I should be.

I already have the plan laid out for telling J. Truth be told, I prepared for it last year and part of my plan has been stashed in my underwear drawer. I�m going to hand him a present. Under the wrapping paper will be a book, Be Prepared. In that book will be a Polariod bookmark, taken this morning, of my belly with the word �BUN� written on it in eyeliner, and my hand holding the positive test above it. I will also include the test, tucked into the package. I�m going to have my camera out to try to capture the look on his face when he realizes what my message is.

Our lives are about to change. Drastically. I don�t think I�ll stop freaking out on some level for a very, very long time.

In the immortal words of Sundry

!!!!!

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland