With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Too early for carrots: half an entry.

2005-06-02 - 7:18 a.m.

I can state with absolute confidence that I�ve never been up and eating carrot sticks before six thirty in the morning before. Oh I�ve been up, but no carrot sticks I can assure you.

I haven�t slept well lately. Three of the last four nights I�ve been comfortable in bed, yet unable to sleep. On Sunday night I know what the problem was � I had a bubble tea and didn�t think about the fact that it had green tea in it. I never thought I was unduly affected by caffeine until I practically eliminated it from my diet once we started trying, then had just the rare drink that contained it. Now, a glass of bubble tea drunk at 7 in the evening can keep me up until 2 am apparently.

Tuesday night/Wednesday morning, I popped awake at 3:30 am. With the day length reaching its peak this month, the sun and the birds rise early and it seems that traffic on the nearby highway starts to pick up early as well. Add to this that it�s only recently become warm enough at night here to sleep with the windows open, and that means that this week I�ve had to start making the adjustment to summer sleeping conditions � more noise plus a breeze wafting over me.

At least this morning I managed to stay sleeping until 5:30, when J�s shower intruded into my consciousness. At that point, however, game over. I gave in at around a quarter after six and decided to come and write to you guys since I know I�ll have a busy day at work and won�t be able to update later. The carrot-stick snack came about because I was thirsty and went to get some apple juice, then decided to quell my grumbling tummy by eating something as well. I figured carrot sticks were healthy and would put something in my belly because �A good breakfast is the start to a good day�.

Tonight J and I have a date. He had hockey on Monday, we had plans with other people on Tuesday, and he had hockey plus I taught at the gym last night. Friday we�re celebrating his best friend�s birthday, then Saturday I�m leaving for southern Ontario to mix business with pleasure: I�m combining a work trip for a meeting on Monday with a visit with my best friend Jo and her family. Since I won�t be back until about midnight on Monday, we figure we�d better seize the opportunity tonight to spend some quality time together while we have the chance. Our plan is to bike along the canal and go for dinner in Ottawa�s Little Italy, then maybe bike all the way back to either Elgin St. or the Market for gelato.

At any rate, my alarm is going off soon so I�d better post this and get on with my day. Even with my packed schedule I�ll try to post something at least once before Tuesday.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland