With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Running and hoping.

2005-05-29 - 9:07 a.m.

I ran the MDS Nordion 10K yesterday at the National Capital Race Weekend. I don�t know my finish time for sure � the results haven�t been posted online yet � but I do know it�s somewhere around the one hour, ten minute mark. While this is the first time (out of six) I�ve taken over an hour, it�s also the first time I�ve run it without any training, doctor�s orders. The only other time I�ve run this year is a practice 8K when I knew for sure I wasn�t pregnant a few weeks ago. I was pleasantly surprised then that I�d been able to run without walking for so long, given that I hadn�t practiced at all. Yesterday too, I didn�t slow down to a walk at any point. I did, however, get passed by the 70 minute pace bunny when I was almost exactly halfway and I spent the last 5 kilometers trying not to let him get a lead on me but watching in frustration as he pulled away by inches. That damn bunny might have beaten me but it�s the �chip� time that counts as far as I�m concerned and, even though the counter said roughly an hour and 12 minutes when I crossed the finish line (which would be my �gun� time), I know it took me over 2 minutes to get across the start line and the chip time measures start line to finish line. So, I figure I�m somewhere under an hour and ten for sure.

My father, however, smoked me as usual. He was a shade under 55 minutes. I�m going to have to get our family trophy engraved in time for Father�s Day. When he�d dragged his heels until August to get it to me last year (see this old entry for an explanation as to why I �won� last year), I threatened to keep if for a full year and give it to him in August this year if he won. But in reality, I know how much this means to him and Father�s Day is the best, most logical time to make the presentation. Besides, I don�t want to be petty. Well I do, actually, but I�m resisting the temptation.

You know what the fact I ran yesterday means though, right? I took the pregnancy test that morning and it was a negative result. A resounding positive and I would have been taking it a lot slower. Still, my basal body temperature remains up and as long as it does I still have hope for this cycle. I suspect I�ll waste a fair amount of money on tests because I won�t be able to wait long between them. I know I should give it at least few days and then test again � waiting a few days could only either give the hormones a chance to build up in my system so that I get a positive, or give my period a chance to get here. If I am pregnant this month, waiting a few days to find out won�t make me any less pregnant, after all. In reality, I�m planning on buying a few tests today and I suspect I�ll be going through them almost daily for the next little while. I simply cannot stand the SUSPENSE!!!

Anyhoo, I have a couple of friends running the marathon and it started at 7am today so I�m heading over soon to see them finish. I�ll let you know how my first day on my newest job goes as soon as I get a chance this week.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland