With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

The march of time.

2005-04-21 - 9:25 a.m.

Today, I�m not talking about that whole conception thing*. Instead I�m going to talk about my hair; principally the fact that I suspect I�m on the verge of getting some grey ones.

Grey hair! Me? Sad but true. I see some that shine a little differently nestled among (amongst?) my sandy brown locks. Time was, those solitary shining ones would have been blond, or even some red, but it doesn�t look like a golden shine in the harsh light of my bathroom. They look more washed out. Proto-grey, if you will. Sure, I�ve still got glints of gold and red, but I suspect I�m headed for salt-and-pepper all too soon. My mother went grey in her thirties and it was very sudden. I suspect I�ll be the same, with armies of fat white hairs invading in the middle of the night.

In anticipation of this, I actually have allowed myself quite long hair in the last couple of years and let it go my natural colour. I figure I�ll be dying it soon enough � not because I think I have to but because I find it kind of fun to change my hair colour � and if I do have a kid I�ll probably cut it short � not because I have to for maintenance, though that�ll help, but because I actually really like short hair on me � so that would be, like next summer if things go well with this treatment approach**? I guess my mental image of myself as a pregnant woman includes long, natural-coloured hair, but my mental image of myself as a mom includes short, funky hair. In fact, if I�m going to be on maternity leave and don�t have to worry about the office for a full year, I may just fulfill a long-cherished dream and dye my hair purple. I�ve always said I think I�d look good with really purple hair. Purple so purple it�s �juicy.�

Not exactly the typical �Madonna with child� image, eh?

-------------------------------------
* That is such a lie. I am totally going to tell you the latest, small though the news may be. My basal body temperature went up a few days ago so there�s a good chance that I ovulated, or at least that I�m producing enough progesterone for the temperature shift. This actually caught me totally off-guard, because I often have that temperature dip associated with a hormone surge a few days before my BBT goes up. This time? Nothin�. In fact, it was so unexpected that we happened to skip, for the first time since starting to try this cycle, that �every other day� event. And, of course, that�s when I probably ovulated (if I did at all) and was at the most fertile for the cycle. J was just too tired from working ridiculously early every damn day, and running around like a chicken with his head cut off during the times he wasn�t working. And truly, I didn�t think it was a big deal since my temperature hadn�t dropped so I decided, wrongly, that if it seemed too much like work and too little like fun that day it was ok to skip it. Isn�t that always the way?

So, the upshot (why does that sound dirty?) is, when my temperature dips in a few days and Aunt Flo arrives, I�ll be making a trip to the pharmacy to fill that Clomid prescription. Scary! Yet, exciting! I�ll keep y�all in the loop as event unfold, of course.

** See? There it is again. I made a liar of myself twice. I can�t help it, it just colours the way I look at the world and creeps into my writing.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland