With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

A great match.

2005-04-08 - 7:52 p.m.

Last night I got a call from an old friend. He's getting married this May, and J and I are looking forward to attending. I think his fianc� is the bomb, and they're one of those couples that we really wish we had more time to see. Whenever we get together there is always a lot of laughter. His tone in the message didn't give me much clue as to why he was calling.

"Shawna this is Tweed; can you call me back when you get in? Thanks."

If anything, it sounded kind of terse and forbidding. Uh oh, I thought, I wonder what's up?

I called back. He got right to the point.

"I was wondering if you'd like to do a reading for our wedding?"

I am so honoured to have been asked, and not only because the other reading is being done by the fianc�s brother. Tweed and I have known each other a long, long time. We dated for over a year in high school and we ended up at the same university. Through all my ups and downs, and boyfriends and breakdowns over the years, Tweed and I have remained friends. He's seen me at my worst times. He's seen me be a total and utter asshat. I can't even honestly say he's seen me at my best since I think only J has really seen that. Yet through everything, he's stuck it out and remained a good friend.

During some of those worst times I sometimes comforted myself with the thought that, no matter what, Tweed loved me. And I still think that's true. Oh, he's no longer in love with me - that privilege belongs to the woman about to become his wife, of course - but I still think he will always have a deep and abiding affection for me. It's the kind of love that allows him to be happy for my successes, including the fact that I found and married my soul mate. He and his fianc� attended our wedding.

Last night I was stuck laughing on the phone in the middle as Tweed and J relayed snappy comebacks back and forth through me. This wedding, a celebration of the union of two great people, is going to be awesome.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland