With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Positive signs? / CSI, wwhhhyyyyy?

2005-04-05 - 9:13 a.m.

Day 16 � mid-cycle spotting? Whaaaa�? When did I get so regular and predictable?

This is a new phenomenon for me. According to various sites I�ve found online, �� seeing a spot of blood during ovulation is considered an excellent fertility sign.� and, �� when the egg bursts through the follicle, a little bleeding may occur. This blood will then make its way out and show up as �spotting�. Or, during ovulation, the level of estrogens rise, and this sometimes prompts the uterus to shed a bit of lining, which shows up in the form of �spotting.�� so, go me! Or rather, go J and me!

Of course, today is the day J had to have his swimmers counted so we�ve had to abstain for the last 48 hours � not good if I�ve ovulated today because there are no swimmers on deck � and his reserves are now a bit depleted, but hey, it�s worth a shot tonight (no pun intended), eh?

Also, I�m breaking out and getting little twinges on the left side of my pelvis. All-in-all, I�m getting the symptoms my doctor asked if I was getting as PMS, but it�s day 16. So what does that mean? Who knows? I�m thinking it has something to do with hormones fluctuating but does it mean ovulation? Or should I expect this cycle to be super-short? My basal body temperature is down a bit but it didn�t totally dip like it did last cycle, not that that�s rock-solid proof of anything though.

------------------------------

Speaking of basal body charting, who saw CSI last week*? Yes there�s a connection � the basal body thermometer played a starring role in the plot that involved a man killing his best friend�s entire family because he just knew his wife was sleeping with the friend (and trying to get pregnant with him since he, the husband, was shooting blanks) when he saw a basal body temperature (BBT) thermometer in his friend�s medicine cabinet. WHAT A CROCK!!! My science-geek heart normally thrills when CSI is on, but this plot so totally, totally bugged me on a number of levels.

  1. The CSIs described the BBT thermometer as working by detecting a �spike� in the woman�s temperature. Um. No. Actually it�s a temperature dip, not a spike. But that�s minor compared to the other issues here�


  2. So the best friend�s wife had her tubes tied, so what? She couldn�t still have her BBT thermometer in her bathroom medicine cabinet? Do YOU have absolutely nothing in your bathroom storage that you don�t actually use anymore? Nothing expired? No old makeup in colours that are out-of-fashion? No band-aids whose paper sheathing is turning yellow? No aging generic bath things that were given as I-have-no-idea-what-to-get-you-but-who-doesn�t-like-a-good-bath-bomb? presents? I didn�t think so.


  3. BBTs are taken when you first wake up in the morning. Never, ever, at any other time of the day. Correct me if I�m wrong but wouldn�t the jig have been up long before if the cheating wife was actually sleeping over enough that she needed to have a separate thermometer there or risk losing track of her chart? WOULDN�T THE FRIEND�S WIFE HAVE NOTICED ANOTHER WOMAN IN HER MARITAL BED? WOULDN�T THE JEALOUS HUSBAND HAVE ONLY BEEN FOOLED SO LONG BY (wife comes in the front door at 7 am) �Hi honey, I, um, didn�t want to wake you so I just went out for your paper and some coffee. Yeah, that�s it.�?

Gah! Did a man write this episode? A man who didn�t bother to do more than the sketchiest of research? Did the writer, in fact, know about the huge holes in this premise but think that the viewing public was too stupid to catch on? Let�s hope this doesn�t signal a bad trend in the science on CSI. Yes, I have caught other mistakes so it's not like they're always rock-solid, but this one just grated all. The. Way. Through. The episode. And I like to be able to suspend my disbelief and just enjoy the show.

*Yes, it may have been a re-run. I�m not sure. It was definitely, however, new to me.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland