With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Oh yeah, you were waiting for news...

2005-03-17 - 2:26 a.m.

Ok, I confess, I�ve been a bad internet friend, leaving y�all hanging like that. But a short-notice, short-deadline freelance editing gig came up, I didn�t get back into the office after my doctor�s appointment, then I was out this morning doing a pincushion imitation and had to finalize a presentation deck for a head honcho when I got into the office. After work I headed to my gym job and then straight home to shower and finish my editing (yep, I hit all three jobs in the same day). You�ll perhaps note the time I�m posting this? THAT IS GUILT MY FRIENDS.

The doctor. Hm. He�s pleasant enough but I�m going to name him Dr. Hubris if that�s any indication of my impression of him. He�s a gyno but he�s also a reproductive endocrinologist and he believes in the gospel of scientific tests, by golly, and totally pooh-poohed my basal body temperature charts � handed �em back without even looking and told me to burn them. Then when he asked me later about our frequency of intercourse I rather dryly pointed out that that information had been on the charts he told me to burn.

He also made the quite snap decision that I wasn�t ovulating at all, just because I�m irregular. He has no real evidence of that other than the odds � apparently something like 90 to 95 percent of women with long and irregular cycles don�t actually ovulate. I agree that the odds aren�t good but wait until you�ve got something to back that up Bub, especially since you didn�t deign to look at my charts which clearly show a biphasic pattern that classically indicates ovulation.

Still, I appreciate his confidence that he�ll have me right as rain, lickety-split. (You know, that saying never sounded dirty until I put it into an entry about gynecology...)

I did NOT appreciate being told that the insulin/glucose test he ordered to be done today would consist of two blood-draws, only to find upon arrival that I was getting stuck a total of four times in two hours. I�ve never had that many needles in a day before and hey, did I mention it was a total of 8 vials (half on the first draw)? DID I???

Makes you wonder what surprises lie in store for poor J�s swimmer analysis, don�t it?

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland