With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Would that give me lead poisoning?

2005-03-04 - 3:16 p.m.

Hah! He never even suspected! In hindsight he kind of slapped his forehead; how many times does cake normally come up in casual office conversation? Probably not two or three times in one week.

Eureka! I was following up on whether my family doctor�s office had sent my blood work to the fertility doctor (brilliant nickname pending actually meeting the man) � they hadn�t so I reminded them � and was told that I was at the head of the cancellation list and would I be interested in coming in on the 15th of March? Would I! So the five-month wait to get in for a consultation has now shrunk to two months and maybe, just maybe, I�m close to finding out what the heck is going on with these crazy 50+ day cycles.

My quest to drop a few pounds had received a setback over the last 24 hours (as witnessed by the whole �cheesecake� theme yesterday), but since I was pretty good at keeping it down to lighter, healthier alternatives the rest of the week I think I�ve come out pretty even, if not ahead. I do what I can in these I-know-I�m-not-pregnant time periods since dieting doesn�t seem like an ideal thing to do when there�s a possibility of a blastocyst depending on me for its nutrient supply. Yep, that�s right, some women get their period and gorge on sushi and booze until it�s time to start �trying� again; I take the opportunity to diet and go more hard-core on the exercise. I have no life. I am, in fact, very light on specific vices unless you count good food in general. And maybe the OC. Ssssh.

I�m looking forward to the weekend; I�m going to see a couple of people I haven�t seen in awhile. One is a much younger man that I once dated and remained friends with; the other is an old friend and my first roommate from when I left home for the summer when I was 16. She�s turning 40 and her partner is having kind of a �this is your life� get-together.

I�m on course (yes, again) next week so don�t count on a new entry until Thursday. At that point I should have scads to impart, if I�m not literally bored to death by the �Fundamentals of Budget Formulation� first. I�ve got my pencil sharpened in case I am compelled to impale myself on it.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland