With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

You'd think this would be less of a mystery.

2005-02-10 - 10:10 a.m.

Yes, my temperature is still up, so once more I�m playing the waiting game. Am I? Am I not? I�m clandestinely groping my boobs several times a day because everyone assures me that sore boobs are a sign.

In case we�re not successful this cycle, I have a lab order to have blood drawn on the 3rd day of my new cycle. They�ll run the following tests: E2, LH, FSH, and TSH. It was decided to do it now rather than wait until my initial appointment in June because with such long and irregular cycles, if I�ve passed that 3rd day recently at that point it could be another couple of months before they get any kind of results to base an assessment on. This way they�ll have some initial findings to start with� assuming this third day doesn�t fall on a Sunday because if it does there will be no labs open and I will be screwed for this cycle and have to wait anyway.

So here�s my quandary. What is the 3rd day? This is more complicated that it sounds. The receptionist who discussed it with me said it was to be the 3rd �heavy flow� day. I asked her what qualified as �heavy flow� and she said that that depended on the person. It definitely wasn�t a day with just spotting. So what I want to know is, does a day that starts with spotting but becomes a steady flow by, say, 4pm count as day one? Or is the next morning, the first day of flow from morning to night, day one? And if the timing is that crucial, does it matter what time of day on the 3rd day (assuming I can properly determine when the 3rd day is) I have the blood drawn? I know for pregnancy tests it�s best to use �first o�the morning pee� (which I always imagine said out loud in an Irish accent for some reason), but I can�t imagine there would be a big difference between 9 am, noon, or 4 pm for blood hormone tests?

Anyone?

Seriously, anyone know about this stuff? Please share!

Bad enough I have to get a needle (of which I have an irrational fear), but to feel like a complete dummy at the same time� Oh well, it�s for a good cause.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland