With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Scurrilous rumours, firewall blues, and worthy causes.

2005-01-05 - 11:03 a.m.

My best friend Jo (the one linked at the bottom of the page) has imparted this bit of wisdom to me:

- I hear watching hockey while "doing it" is a good way to get pregnant. Better hurry while the Juniors are playing! *grin*

Obviously some man started that rumour. I can just hear the thought process now...

The two best things in life are hockey and sex. Wouldn�t it be great if I could combine the two? Hmm, there�s a game on tonight. I was planning on going out to the pub to watch it with the boys but I could stay home instead. Now how do I�? wait a minute, my wife wants to get knocked up!

�Hey honey? Did you know�?�

-------------------

Yay! Sundry has a new site that I can see through our damn firewall!

Seriously people, I hate this thing. Not because it stops me from wasting time paid for by your hard-earned tax dollars (though theoretically, that too) and not JUST because I can�t read my sites between the time I finish work at 4:30 and the time J usually picks me up at 6:00, though that�s certainly a big part of it, but because it smacks of big brother to me. I�ve worked with the Knowledge Management group of this organization and they tout that song-and-dance about valuing our employees and empowering them to seek knowledge for it�s own sake, yet the department has now cut off my access to my biggest sources of information on American politics, combating infertility, and eating healthily, plus some of the finest creative writing I�ve seen in a long time. This is despite the fact that NONE of these sites actually fit the guidelines outlined in our own internal policies as ones that access should be cut off to. This means that the gnomes of the firewall can indiscriminately block whatever they feel like, policy be damned, yet to get access back you have to demonstrate a business need to do so. If they followed their own policy these sites shouldn�t have been blocked in the first place.

To me this issue is an indication of what this department thinks of its employees and friends, it�s not good.

-------------------

Psst. I donated to a relief organization. Did you?

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland