With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Another setback.

2004-11-18 - 3:16 p.m.

My mother in-law took a turn for the worse. Between that and the conference I�ve been at for the last couple of days, I haven�t had a chance to update as much as I would prefer.

I�m sure y�all understand.

Tuesday morning at 3 am we got �the call� from the hospital. You know what I mean by that I�m sure; the kind saying you�d better come in because your loved one is in danger of shuffling off this mortal coil at any moment. We�d all noticed a reduced level of responsiveness over the previous couple of days but had been told that she�d have good days and bad days and they thought that she was having a couple of bad days. Not wanting to think otherwise, we�d accepted that explanation.

Then, that night, she began vomiting, her pupils stopped responding to light, and her arms were going into a decerebrating posture (when the arms extend inappropriately, instead of flexing inwards at the elbows) in response to deep pain � the only response she would make at all to any of the tests they were doing. The CT scan showed increased swelling of the brain. They took no chances and called the family in.

Since then she�s stabilized again and has even progressed to occasionally responding to yes and no questions, but she can no longer swallow and, for now, has to have her airway suctioned periodically to keep it clear. Once again, we�re playing the waiting game to see what improvements will come in the next few days and what the long-term prognosis is, if it�s changed at all.

Unfortunately, I�m out of town on business this Saturday until Tuesday, and will have another all-day, off-site meeting on Wednesday, but I�ll keep you as up-to-date as I can.

Keep those good thoughts coming.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland