With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

And just like that, our world changed.

2004-11-02 - 11:08 p.m.

The phone rang and something about his stillness alerted me. I couldn�t get him to look at me and suddenly I found myself pounding up the stairs to shed my pyjamas and jam my feet back into my jeans. I didn�t even know what was wrong yet, but I had a feeling.

J�s mother had a stroke last night. It was just over 24 hours ago and it feels like a lifetime. In a way, it is. Our world has changed. We went from a whole, healthy family to one with a member gravely ill. None of us went to work today. J�s sister and her husband and baby daughter were rushing into emergency four and a half hours after the call went out to summon them. The drive from where they live is normally longer than that and this time that span included all the packing.

J and I beat the ambulance to the hospital. We were there until very, very late.

We�ve been told that the first 24 hours are the most critical. Those 24 hours have passed. Slowly. The worst now is the waiting, the not-knowing. Tests have told us frustratingly little so far and the doctors don�t know yet what the ultimate outcome will be or when she�ll truly be out of the woods. The next couple of weeks will take forever and we may not know much more then than we do now.

The facts as we understand them right now are: this type of stroke involves rupturing of blood vessels in the brain, resulting in bleeding (as opposed to the kind that everyone knows about, where a blood vessel gets blocked in the brain); she is responsive to some degree, though it�s being impaired by the drugs they�ve given her so it�s not easy to gauge; there are signs of some paralysis on her left side � how much this can be overcome won�t be determined for some time yet.

Please send some good thoughts our way.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland