With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

AND I still have candy at home lying in wait for me...

2004-11-01 - 12:35 p.m.

*urp*

I can�t remember last time I ate so much unhealthy food for so long a stretch as I did this weekend. Sure, I eat a lot at Thanksgiving and other family gatherings, but at least it�s homemade food made from scratch with mostly-healthy ingredients. It�s normally the quantity, not the quality that�s the problem. This time? All quality baby.

I started out just fine with a Yop before my class on Saturday morning (it�s a snack and a beverage, all in one!). I thought I�d go home and have a shower and a healthy lunch before packing for the jaunt to my niece�s christening in southern Ontario. Then I just seemed to go into a time warp where everything took so long to do that I had to concentrate on getting ready to leave so that, by the time my husband got home I hadn�t had time for any kind of food except a few Halloween mini chocolate bars. He hadn�t eaten either and we were running late so we snarfled down some leftover pizza before whooshing across town to meet up with his parents for the drive down.

When we were approaching our destination I inquired what the plan was for dinner. Can you guess the answer? If you guessed pizza, you�d be right. And Pizza Hut pizza at that, the greasiest, albeit among the tastiest, pizza known to man.

The next morning I snagged a bowl of honey-nut Cheerios before the service but at the reception ate the finger food provided. The mini-sandwiches (consisting of meat and mayo on bread) were probably the healthiest offering, which I offset with chips �n dip and cake (two pieces). On the way home the Outlaws proposed stopping for dinner and I ended up ordering fish �n chips, then once back in town we went for a movie night at some friends� house where we were plied with chocolate chip cookies and tiramisu.

Why? Why can�t I turn down food that�s offered to me? My thought train on the way out the door went something like this,

Blagh! That was a LOT of sugar and grease this weekend. Any impending breakouts or weight gain this week will be TOTALLY my fault. I feel so gross. Like the grease is oozing out my pores as I sit here. Wait? What�s that being proffered in that Tupperware box? Uh oh, it�s right under my nose. Must. Resist. Why is my hand reaching forward? Stop hand. STOP, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD!!!

(out loud) Why sure I�ll have another cookie for the road�

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland