With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Taking a breath.

2004-10-21 - 4:20 p.m.

My poor neglected journal.

As you know (unless you didn�t read the last entry) I was out of town for the last couple of days hiring a co-op student. I know it�s a clich� to say that there were so many good candidates it was hard to make a decision, but it was exactly the case. Out of the six that we interviewed, I would have been OK with hiring four. In the end, after much debate, we settled on one person. I hope that the matching process goes smoothly.

We stayed in one of the affiliated college�s �hotel�, which was a glorified residence. I can�t say I was impressed as, in the 24 hours we were there, the hot water was down and I didn�t really think the place was very clean. Next time I might not go for saving my workplace the eleven bucks and stay at a real hotel.

It was, however, way, way cool to be back on the campus of my alma mater. I didn�t have a lot of time to wander down memory lane but it really was a huge nostalgia trip to be back eating at the Math C&D. And the variety and prices were as good as I remember them to be.

Interviewing was interesting but I got hit by the karmic boomerang today when I was the one squirming under the microscope at my own board. I did have a couple moments that I wasn�t too fond of. You know, where you know you�re saying too many words that are really almost deviod of content and you hear yourself babbling and your head is telling your mouth to Shut. It. already but you still can�t seem to stop? Yeah. That�s what happened a couple of times. Oh, I know I passed, but I really didn�t want to just pass; I wanted to excel, and impress, and shine, and a number of other descriptors deserving of italics. I�m waiting for my boss to get back so I can grill him a bit on the view from the other side of the table.

Now that that�s out of the way, I�ll be able to focus on my job once again, and my level of responsibility should increase. I�ve got four conferences coming up in the next month, one of which is out of town again, and then I�ll be entering the fun whirlwind that is pre-Christmas madness, with all the visiting and shopping and eating that entails. I�ll be keeping this up-to-date as best I can and maybe I�ll have some free time once I�m back from Hawaii at the end of January?

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland