With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Feeling left out.

2004-09-13 - 3:00 p.m.

This weekend was very low key for us; we stayed in on Friday and went to a bar to watch the hockey game with a friend of Saturday, but still got to bed early. We both worked both days since I was at the gym teaching and J hasn�t yet trained his new employee sufficiently to have him coming in on his own to open on the weekends. We rented a movie last night (50 First Dates) which was OK but not so riveting that we felt we couldn�t shut it off half way through to go to bed. We�ll probably watch the rest tomorrow night.

One of the reasons this weekend was so quiet was J�s group* of friends had mostly gone off to the cottage belonging to one of them. They weren�t around when we were calling to see who wanted to go watch the game. Here�s the thing though, we weren�t invited. I would have said that this group consists of 5 couples, including us, but now I�m thinking maybe it�s more like this group consists of 4 couples, plus us. We have no idea why we weren�t included in the invitation. I don�t think it�s that we were just imagining we�re considered good friends � we see them all the time. I go to girl-only dinners with just the cottage-owner every now and then, and J is going to be the emcee at the wedding of the cottage-owners next summer. They�ve asked me to be in charge of the decorations.

So what I want to know is, are we good enough friends that they feel comfortable asking us to do work for them, but not good enough friends that they want to bring us along for the fun stuff? I have no idea what is up with that. The only thing I can come up with is that they knew J and I would be working so they knew we couldn�t come anyway. But if that�s the case, what skin off their nose is it to ask and that way we feel wanted even if we can�t actually make it?

I was of two minds about writing this post � I don�t like to put anything up that might hurt anyone�s feelings if they stumbled across this site. And believe it or not, the female-half of the couple in question is one of the few people I see on a semi-regular basis I was considering giving my URL to. On the other hand, it�s not like I�m calling anyone names, just mentioning that my nose is a bit out of joint, and posting the story might clear things up, since she might let me know what the reasoning was. I guess once I hit �post� I�ll have decided to take my chances.

-------------

* J has a cohesive group of friends in which everyone hangs out together. I have a bunch of friends but they don�t know each other so we tend to see them one or two at a time. This means is we alternate it�s like: J�s friends, my friend A, J�s friends, my friend B, etc., so you can see how long it sometimes take to cycle back to friend A if I try to see all my friends from A to M equally. The result? We spend way more time with J�s friends (now sort of my friends too) as a whole.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland