With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Drool for me monkey boy!

2004-08-11 - 11:21 p.m.

Today was my first day back at work and the first day that both my new boss and I have been in the office at the same time. Needless to say, it was pretty busy. After work I ended up subbing for another instructor before my own class so I had to grab a bite to eat, head straight for one gym, then zip on over to my own gym after that.

It was just as well I had the extra class today � J and I went to Quebec City for our first anniversary this past weekend and, man, I feel totally tubbed out this week. I have three words to describe the earthly incarnation of evil I faced and vanquished on two, count �em, TWO separate occasions:

Strawberry.

Cheese.

Pie.

Pies aren�t that bad for you � they�re full of fruit right? Now this pie, this is a pie of a different stripe. It�s like the bastard love child of a cheesecake and a strawberry pie. Picture, if you will, a pie crust; a lovely, crunchy, blind-baked shortbread pie crust. Now put a smooth, creamy, rich, cheesecake-y layer. Not too thick! Only, maybe an inch or so � enough to only half-fill the crust. On top of that, layer a thick layer of fresh strawberries glazed with that gooey sweet gelatin you see on fruit tarts. Now cut a generous wedge out of that baby, place it reverently on a plate and then serve with a generous splash of what appeared to be a strawberry puree but may have been a sauce of which the puree was only an ingredient.

Evil I tell you.

--------------

More when I get a chance but for now, I'm off to dream of my just desserts.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland