With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Explanation? Excuse? You decide.

2004-07-23 - 9:20 a.m.

My first week in the new job is drawing to a close. So far, so good, though it really keeps me hopping. At least the days fly by. This, unfortunately, doesn�t leave me as much time for interesting updates, or any updates for that matter.

The solution I�m proposing is to go for quality over quantity for the next little while. I started this journal partly as an exercise to force myself to write and thus, quantity was paramount. For years I�d thought of myself as a writer, but was keenly aware that I didn�t actually write very much and it was time to change that.

I�ve always been told that �if you write it, they will come� when it comes to online journaling; after nine months of writing almost every weekday, I�ve only got a handful of people that are reading. BUT, the fact that anyone takes the time to check in on what I�m up to is what�s been driving me to continue. I don�t want to let anyone down by not posting regularly.

This being said, I�ve really been quite pleased with a lot of the entries I�ve written. Unfortunately, the wheat can be hard to find in all the chaff. Generally speaking, my favourite entries have emerged to be first about sharing some funny stories from my past, and second about my thoughts, feelings and opinions. My least favourites have been the hurried �what I�m up to� entries. I don�t know what your, my reader�s, opinion is. The thing is, the fast ones to write are the last type and when I�m pressed for time as I have been�

No one wants to read a string of one-paragraph entries which all boil down to, �Too busy to write now.� So, this is my tentative plan: I�m going to write offline if I get time to write during the day and when I have something of decent length and/or substance I�ll post. It may drop the posting frequency a bit but at least I�ll feel like I have something worth reading on this site.

No guarantees on the appeal of the content I choose, and I will still be doing some blow-by-blow accounts of goings-on, just not five sentences at a time, so brace yourselves.

See you next week.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland