With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

The nature of click.

2004-07-13 - 5:56 p.m.

Do you believe in love at first sight? That instant when you look at someone for the first time and know that they are just right for you? Well I�m not so good at recognizing that for myself (it took me a couple of months to fall irrevocably head over heels for my husband) but sometimes I�ve done it for other pairings. My ex that I talked about yesterday was the ultimate example.

When he and I broke up, we worked hard at moving into a friendship. We made a point of getting together for dinner or, eventually, just hanging out. I got another boyfriend and still we managed. He dated a woman briefly and he and I still got together to watch the tube and cook up a batch of chili or brownies which we�d split at the end of the night. This routine lasted longer than that woman in his life.

Then he met The One.

I had some clues, to be sure. He was happy and bouncy in a way I hadn�t seen him in, well, the three+ years since we�d gotten together.

The fateful night came when I met her. I was on my way out of his apartment with my Tupperware container of chili and she arrived just as I was leaving. We chatted for a couple of minutes and then I was on my way.

Later I was asked by some friends, �So you met the new girlfriend? What did you think?�

My reply?

�I think he�s going to marry her.�

And I was right. I took one look at her and just knew that she was the one for him. They just, well, worked together. What I didn�t know was that that was also destined to be the last night he and I cooked together. For a long time I was vaguely resentful that our friendship ended then. I never blamed her; I always knew that he just didn�t want to mix worlds and wanted a fresh start (he once semi-joked about how he didn�t want us comparing notes). And I was a little ticked that I�d risked my new boyfriend�s displeasure by continuing to make the ex a priority friend, while the ex wasn�t willing to do the same. Ultimately and eventually though, I understood.

I have another two friends that got together that I got the same feeling when I first saw them as a couple. While I didn�t predict it, when I did see them together I just thought �yes, of course, that makes sense�. I told him and when they broke up he reminded me with a slightly bitter, �so much for your intuition�. When they got back together, a few months later I got to say, �Ah HAH!� They�re still going strong and I don�t see them breaking up again.

As for my situation? I may have been slow to see it myself but my mother was right on target. She met J for 15 minutes (I sprang him on her at the end of a shopping trip, poor man) and the next time she talked to me she declared, among other enthusiastic comments, �I could see you marrying him.�

I guess mother does know best, lucky for me.

--------------

Psst. No entry tomorrow but I'll be back Thursday if all goes to plan.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland