With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Ms. P.? Paging Ms. P....

2004-06-24 - 11:19 a.m.

Dear Period,

Where the hell are you?

Sincerely,

Shawna

As some of you may recall, I went off the Pill awhile ago to get my system back in rhythm. In fact, it was just after mid-May.

I have to confess I don�t know what my natural rhythm actually is. I never kept track of cycle lengths before I went on the Pill as a teenager � hey, I was a teenager, I didn�t care about that stuff. I cared about boys and school and the condition of my skin� you know, the earth-shattering things. I wasn�t sexually active yet so I didn�t need to know if I was �late� or not, and even if I could miss the unmistakable signs of impending flow, just in case, I always had �feminine protection� in the knapsack which I carried everywhere. (That knapsack could have been grafted to me, so seldom was it not in my immediate possession.) In university, before going on the Pill, I kept track in a distracted sort of way in the sense that I knew what my timing was in relation to my best friend�s timing.

I did, however, know when I ovulated, albeit a few years after I started, because I recognized a description of the signs from a book. They were unmistakable.

I have not seen these signs yet.

I know that the 28-day guideline is only an average so I�m not really worrying about the fact that it�s been 33 since the start of the cycle triggered by going off the Pill. Hey, let�s be honest here, I know from experience that I could happily go forever without a period. It�s really more about the fact that not returning to a natural cycle could indicate something�s wrong. Something�s obviously changed, but is something actually wrong, or do I just have to be patient while my body adjusts to producing its own damn hormones again? Have I, in fact, ovulated and the �symptoms� just don�t show in my 30s like they did in my teens?

I expressed some concern to J last night about the fact that it�s been 33 days and I don�t see any signs of getting my period. He didn�t really understand what I was getting at (though he will after reading this entry) and got all cute and excited thinking maybe I was suggesting I might be pregnant. I felt kind of bad making his face fall; letting him know that I was pretty sure I hadn�t ovulated at all and reminding him that that was pretty much impossible given the precautions we�ve been taking.

Anyway, this is probably all not a huge deal and I�m just being unrealistic in expecting my body to snap into a textbook-style cycle right away. Time will tell. And if time doesn�t, my doctor hopefully will, �cause if I don�t see any sort of change in the next two weeks, I�m making an appointment. I�m not known for my patience and darn it, I want some answers. Right now would be good.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland