With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Time to vote.

2004-06-22 - 12:42 p.m.

Guess who�s got gmail? Go on, guess. Yep, me(!), courtesy of the lovely Miss Zoot!

Yay! I feel like one of the cool kids!

----------

And now for the more serious stuff:

I don�t usually get political on this site; generally I leave politics to those that follow them more closely and understand them better. However (and you knew there was a however coming at this point), I did go to the advance polls this past weekend and select a candidate.

It wasn�t easy.

While there�s a lot of focus on the election to the south, and the Americans have their own issues to deal with, Canadians too are heading to the polls to try to determine the best candidate. Perhaps it would be more accurate to say �a candidate that represents the least of the evils.�

I normally dislike the Liberals least, but this year they�ve undermined my loyalty with their smugness and their scandals. I just don�t want to send them the message that they can do anything and get away with it. Yet, the Conservatives scare the crap out of me; I will never, ever be able to vote for a party that has expressed outright homophobia and anti-choice sentiments in the media.

The NDP�s leader is charismatic but their economic platform doesn�t appeal to me. I think capital gains tax should be eliminated, not increased (by the time you dispose of some things on which you may have a capital gain, the rate of inflation negates the real value of the gain). For that matter, Canadians have one of the most heavily taxed nations in the entire world � I can�t agree that we should pay more than we do already. The quality of services we receive isn�t really proportional to the amount we pay and I don�t think that throwing more money at it is the issue but, rather, we should focus on more effectively using the tax money we already collect. I�ve worked at a hospital and I work for the government and there is money wasted at both; I�ve seen it, much more so at the latter. The money often just trickles away on small things.

What the NDP doesn�t seem to take into account is that in their �tax the rich� mindset, they alienate people like me who aspire to get ahead and become rich. Much potential progress forward would be countered by the increased amount of money I�d have to pay for that progress, so where�s the incentive to try?

So the Green Party. They are aligned with many of my beliefs. Pro-choice, pro-gay marriage, pro-environment� all good. However, they�re so lacking in real clout that to vote for them might be a vote that didn�t effectively stop the terrifying Conservatives and with the opinion polls showing them to be so close to the Liberals, I didn�t want to risk that.

So, in the end, I went with good old Ed Broadbent (or �Ed! Broadbent� as his posters say) who�s running in my riding. I�m willing to live with the shakeup and fallout until the next election, which I think will come in less than 4 years as everyone agrees a minority government is likely in the offing this time around.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland