With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Well doesn't this just suck?

2004-06-18 - 5:22 p.m.

Disaster has struck! Well, maybe not a total disaster but my new job has been torpedoed.

Turns out, that manager�s mouth was writing cheques his organization couldn�t cash. When he offered me the position, he thought he could bring me on � he thought wrong. Turns out he was, and I quote �stymied by an internal HR turf war� and the people who it seems had sign off power chose not to exercise that power.

Hrm. Well. Ahem. *pulls collar* Now what do I do?

I had actually written a �heads-up� to my home organization to warn them that I was considering switching if all went through. The grape vine being what it is, I didn�t want them to hear it from somewhere else first. I�m still glad I operated on the up-and-up but man, I�m even more glad that I went out of my way to be tactful and polite and not burn any bridges.

I had turned down someone else � who I�d actually been keen to work for but they weren�t so aggressively certain they could pull it off � so I suppose I�ll give her a call. If that doesn�t lead anywhere, well, I do have some tricks up my sleeve but, honestly, I�d just be happy to leave where I am now, even if it does mean going back to my �home base� from whence I�d been looking to escape. People who are leaving are actually beaming and bouncing up and down on their last day and I want to be one of those people.

Another installment on Monday when I�m sure I�ll have way, way more to tell you, assuming I can get the time.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland