With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Oh my aching head.

2004-06-15 - 1:19 p.m.

Today�s special edition is brought to you from home.

I had a migraine this morning so I had to take my meds and call in sick. Right now I�m at the stage where I�m functional but still iffy so I�m afraid that once I leave the sanctuary of home I�ll go downhill again and get trapped somewhere. I might do some easy household chores like laundry but for the moment sitting here suits me just fine.

I speak from experience about the �trapped somewhere� by the way. Once in university, I had all the warning signs and ignored them because there was an author reading I really wanted to attend. I just got worse and worse until, when it was over, I decided to rest for a moment in the university centre, sat down, and couldn�t get back up again. Eventually someone stopped and asked if I was alright and I had to get him to call the campus police who came and ended up driving me home. That one was a doozy and I was out of commission for two days.

As a teenager I used to suffer through them without taking anything but I eventually sought a doctor�s advice and she put me on an anti-inflammatory/anti-prostaglandin. That helped a bit but as an adult I decided that enough was enough and after consulting with my doctor and the migraine clinic here in Ottawa, I ended up with a two-prong treatment: since many of them are linked to hormonal fluctuation, to prevent them I was put on the Pill full-time, no breaks; to treat the ones I did get, I was prescribed Maxalt.

Maxalt is wonderful. I take one and usually within two hours I�m functional again. It�s not a heavy-duty painkiller like some people assume; it�s a cerebrovasoconstrictor (I have no idea if I spelled that correctly), which means that it shrinks the blood vessels in my brain (i.e. it treats the cause, not the symptom).

I suspect the migraine this morning was brought to me by my friendly neighbourhood weather system. It rained last night and it�s noticeably cooler today and, as I�ve mentioned before weather/pressure fronts are the second biggest cause of migraine for me.

Back to the ol� grind for me tomorrow.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland