With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

My May 2-4.

2004-05-25 - 12:10 p.m.

Whew! This weekend was pretty hectic and I am harbouring the suspicion that it�ll be nothing compared to next weekend.

Despite my low-grade migraine for most of the weekend, I managed to teach a class Saturday morning, go to a friend�s cottage right afterward, grocery-shop on the way home the next day and whip up a BBQ feast for J and our friend Rob (pork chops glazed with hot sauce, maple syrup and garlic, flame-broiled carrots, potato�n onion packets, plus salad; I did the prep, they did the grilling). We went for gelato and rented a movie afterwards. Sunday I went to Merrickville for an art show and some browsing through the shops with my mom for her birthday and then she and I joined J and C and a couple of our friends for dinner at our favourite Mexican place. This was, of course, facilitated by the fact that J did all the driving on Saturday and Sunday, and a good portion of the car loading and unloading.

Tonight it�s my brother�s 14th birthday so I have to pick up a present for him and then J and I are heading over for dinner. I�m getting him a wallet with a wallet chain. I think it�ll appeal to his newfound taste in studs and skater wear. (And I can never say this enough: thank God that his taste is evolving and he�s finally gotten rid of the mullet.)

Tomorrow night I�m teaching.

Thursday night I�d better run because Friday (in addition to picking up my sister at the bus station) I pick up my package for the race on Saturday. As you may be able to guess if you peruse the last couple of weeks� worth of entries, I haven�t been able to devote the time to training that would have guaranteed success in beating my dad this year in the 10k. In fact, I�m not sure I can even guarantee that I�ll match my slowest time. To be honest, I�ve been busy and it�s just not as high a priority for me as I know it is for him so he�ll win and he�ll deserve to.

I still hate the fact that I�ll have to put up with his gloating for another year. Two actually since I suspect I won�t be able to run next year. My father is the least gracious winner I�ve ever seen and he doesn�t seem to understand that pretending he hasn�t even been training (to the point where he�s actually said that he doesn�t even know where his running shoes are) is incredibly annoying � just admit that you gave it some effort to beat me fair and square. He�s also prone to implying that I�m lying about how much training I do, or rather, don�t do. You are my witnesses; I run when I have time but if I don�t have the time or the weather is bad or I�m not feeling well, I just don�t do it. It�s just not that important to me.

The fact is, I hate running. I hate the puffing and the red face and the nausea and the shin splints. I do it because the cardio is good for me to kick-start my summer, and because my dad gets so much glee out of the whole thing.

Still there is such a thing as too much glee. Trust me.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland