With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Saddle sore after all.

2004-04-30 - 10:35 a.m.

So I didn�t lie yesterday. At least not intentionally. Rather, I was mistaken about the hardiness of my ass. It turns out that it doesn�t actually matter whether your muscles are up to the task, if your butt hasn�t been bumped along on a bicycle saddle for some months, you get sore. Not in a pleasant, �I�ve worked for it� in the whole muscle sore, in a �boy, sitting on something of that size and shape just isn�t that fun the second day� kind of sore. More like a bruised-feeling (but thank Heaven, not bruised-looking) section of your butt when you sit.

So let the gloating commence. I asked for it by bragging yesterday about how not-sore I was.

Actually, I ended up being doubly-humbled yesterday. Remember when I said I�d been feeling thinner lately, even though the scale didn�t agree with me? Well I must have just been getting used to my current size but the scale, it tells the truth. As does trying on summer clothes for the first time this season.

I�ve had this pair of shorts for years you see. They were my huge, comfy pair of shorts that I wore until they got ragged. At one point a couple of years ago, I considered getting rid of them because they were just so big on me and I couldn�t wear them without a belt. Can you see this coming? Yesterday I needed to throw on a pair of shorts to run outside for something when I got home. The only ones not packed away for the winter were my huge green shorts, aaaaannnd.... too small. I could do them up but they certainly weren�t comfortable. *sigh* I�m not even going to go into how discouraging it was to have the fact brought home to me that my mental image of myself is slimmer than the reality.

I hate to leave you with a down note for the weekend though so I�ll just say that I have a good feeling about the job interview I have coming up in an hour. Oh the suspense...

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland