With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Hiking, running and snooping. Oh my!

2004-03-29 - 12:09 p.m.

There have been a number of small occurrences building up that beg to be reported so I�ll devote today to doing so:

The hiking trip in the Sierras
It looks as though my hiking trip with my Dad will be delayed until July or maybe even August. This could make things a bit dicey in terms of timing as far as JournalCon goes, particularly since I�m not keen on telling Dad about this journal and therefore it will be difficult to explain why I�m going to a convention for online journal writers. Hmm. As it stands now, I�ve mentioned that I�m going to be in Washington for that weekend but haven�t said why.

The run
My training has slowed down due partly to being pretty busy and partly to the fact that I had a mild migraine yesterday. Oh yeah, and I started a urinary tract infection yesterday morning and I defy anyone to want to run for an hour when they don�t want to be more than a minute or two from a bathroom at any point. I might write a bit about the wisdom I�ve amassed over the years regarding UTI�s sometime this week (if I forget and your curiosity is burning, drop me a line with the word �journal� in the title � to get past my spam filters � and I�ll make a point of getting on that).

My long-lost friend
I might see her tonight (!) since I emailed her some details on a seminar I�m going to be attending that I thought might interest her and she said she might check it out.

Another Google hit!
This time it was for orgasming+while+exercising. Funny that the few searches that I've turned up in are all about odd things happening on exercise equipment, eh?

My sister's school situation
My sister is in what should be the last semester of her 2-year paralegal course and it seems has hit a bit of a stumbling block. Of course, it can�t be a simple situation so here�s the scoop:

Full of trepidation, she phoned Mom to let her know that she might have some delay in finishing. Apparently there is a requirement that she be able to type 40 w.p.m. in order to graduate from her course and right now she can only do 25 w.p.m. I�ve long suspected she has a learning disability and it seems that, while it�s still not been officially diagnosed, it may indeed be the case that she�s dyslexic. So far this is pretty straightforward.

However, she told Mom that because she can�t type fast enough, she might not be able to go on the field placement for her course which is a short-term, unpaid placement that allows students to get some hands-on experience in the field before they graduate. This could mean a delay of 8 months in going on the placement/graduating. My mom was upset (for her, not at her) and sent me an email about it. This is where it starts to get into a grey area because my sister wouldn�t likely want me to hear about it, much less stick my nose in the situation. But because I am used to being the �fixer� of sticky situations, I did. In investigating whether she could be allowed to take the field placement and then pass the keyboarding test, I found out that she could, and that she should go talk to her program coordinator as soon as possible to discuss her options, but that leads me to suspect that there�s more to the story. Even if there isn�t, how do I get the information back to her? She won�t want Mom to have mentioned it to me and she wouldn�t appreciate me having looked into it further. She definitely wouldn�t want to hear that any hint has arisen that there may be more to the story than what�s she�s shared so far. (Heaven forefend that she ever find this site and read this entry � I may be trying to help but I don�t think it would be well received.) I�ve told Mom to, without saying that she�s got any extra info, suggest to her that it might be a good idea to talk to her program coordinator to discuss options and see if something can be worked out. I hope it�s enough to at least get her to the coordinator�s office to set things rolling in a positive direction.

Really though, the woman is 32 years old and she shouldn�t feel that she has to answer to anyone else about this; it�s her life, her time and her money. It takes guts to go back to school and put your life and livelihood on hold to do it. She�s afraid to tell Dad that it might take more time to finish (Dad puts a very high value on education and can be very censorious at times) but even if it does, so what? She�ll get there eventually. She�s worked hard and he should recognize that. And if he doesn�t, big deal. It�s not the end of the world. Go sis!

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland