With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

More than eggplant curry to chew on.

2004-02-27 - 4:05 p.m.

So the musings at dinner last night (at a truly fabulously good Indian restaurant) only really resulted in a wait-and-see decision. My mother�s boyfriend may not be leaving if he can�t get the papers he needs and, for now, paying his brother so that he can look after their mother is the only immediate, definite plan.

If he does leave however, while my mom isn�t sure whether she�ll want to move or stay where she is, she does think he won�t be back. Her boyfriend�s family has certain expectations of him as the eldest son and that includes settling down, marrying and having children with someone �over there�. Once he�s actually there my mom doesn�t think it�ll be easy for him to resist the pressure and leave for Canada again. I won�t go into the details but despite the fact that they�ve been together for 15 years, my mother wouldn�t be accepted by her boyfriend�s family and they don�t, as far as I know, even know about her. My opinion on this is moot so I�ll stop there on the topic.

Even if he does leave, I think my mother will see how she copes with the place on her own and if it works out, great. If she decides she wants to move into town or at least closer to town, hey, great too. There are lots of advantages in both scenarios. Her house is beautiful and peaceful and already customized to her tastes; she had the rough building stuff done but finished the interior herself. She loves living in the country and is an avid gardener. She also sees that it might be fun to live where she can walk places again, be closer to J and I if she needs us for anything and not have to commute 45 minutes to work. The main hurdle of course would be the move itself would suck. My mom has a LOT of stuff. And I�ve added to that over the years because, hey, where else do you put your stuff when you�re away at school and moving every four or eight months.

In other news, I�m helping out at the opening of the newest branch of the gym I work for for a couple of hours this weekend. J is gearing up to take over ownership of his new business on Monday. I�m in the throes of organizing a baby shower for my sister in-law and the invitations went out yesterday. And we�re going out with friends on Saturday to celebrate a couple of their birthdays. Not exactly riveting but such are the minutiae of life.

Oh, and I am starting to contemplate whether to go to Journalcon this year (and if you�re my husband and this is news to you, hi honey! Do you think you�d mind if I blew town for a weekend near the end of August? I could use my airline points...).

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland