With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

More on sleeping.

2004-02-10 - 12:55 p.m.

At least once a day I think, �hey, that�d be a good thing to write about in my journal�, and at least once a week I actually remember the topic while I�m sitting in front of my computer. You�ll note that this isn�t a great ratio. Hence the preponderance of mundane: this is what I did; this is what I�m doing; this is what I plan to do entries. This time I remembered.

Last night my husband and I were in bed. We�d said goodnight, done our cuddle-�til-J-gets-too-sweaty-to-want-to-be-pressed-together (I believe I�ve mentioned I�m a "hot" sleeper), and settled back to sleep. We must have been lying there, maybe 10 minutes, drifting off when I suddenly raised my head, looked down at the two of us, looked at J, and giggled. He looked at me like I was nuts.

"Don�t you think it�s funny, how we�re lying?" I asked. He didn�t answer with anything other than an eye roll, but it was. Funny that is, though partly funny-peculiar and partly funny-ha-ha. Because the fact was, we were both lying stretched full on our backs, our arms furthest from each other at our sides, and the arms on the inside reaching out slightly to hold hands. It�s like we were posed that way by a set designer, maybe laid out on a slab like young lovers that died in a Shakespeare play. This surely can�t be a natural sleeping position? Yet, that is how I lie at first, composing myself for sleep, almost every time I go to bed: full out on my back, sometimes with my hands resting on my upper abs. I almost invariably roll over onto my side or stomach just before I actually fall asleep. The times I don�t though, I�m told that it�s pretty creepy to see.

My sister used to wake me up before high school in the mornings and more than once she found me sleeping in my corpse pose. The pi�ce-de-r�sistance? The fact that I occasionally slept with my eyes open and when that coincided with the corpse pose... well, she�d peer at me thinking �is she dead?�.

Speaking of sleeping positions, there�s one other thing I�ve noticed over the years: when I sleep with my arm up over my head on the pillow, either I have more dreams or the ones I do have are more vivid and thus I remember them better. It�s kind of a chicken-and-egg thing in the sense that I don�t know if I happen to feel like putting my arms up when I�m already in a state predisposed to dreaming, or if putting them up actually triggers the effect on my dreams. Still, I�ve never heard anyone else make this observation so I don�t know if it�s just me.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland