With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

A look back at 2003.

2003-12-31 - 10:13 a.m.

So, since it�s New Years Eve, I feel as though I should be doing some big philosophical summary of the year but the truth is that, other than a few large items, I don�t have a lot to recap this year. The single event which dominated my 2003 was, of course, my wedding to J in August. I am now an �old married woman� and can positively feel myself becoming matronly. You can check back to some of my first entries for fairly detailed accounts of the wedding (great food, great friends, good times, the best husband a woman could wish for�) and the honeymoon (though not too detailed!) already so I won�t go into more gushing details about how wonderful they were, I�m sure I�ve conveyed that pretty well.

One side note now that we�ve been through a Christmas and we�re receiving cards from people who don�t read my journal or get my email, and therefore don�t know that I�ve both kept my name and go by Ms., we�ve been receiving a lot of cards with Mr. and Mrs. and just my husband�s last name, both our first names and J�s last name, and, worst of all, Mr. and Mrs. J. with the hubby�s last name. There�s not one thing in that last case that indicates it�s at all for me as far as I�m concerned. I�m not a Mrs., my initial�s not J, nor am did I take my husband�s last name. There�s nothing wrong with the name but it�s not mine and it does irk me a bit that people make assumptions and don�t bother to find out what my name actually is. It�s not uncommon anymore for women to keep their last names and the first clue people receive is the thank you card from the wedding � in our case, with the return address clearly containing both of our last names, which all of the offenders received. Don�t think I�m mortally offended; it�s more of a mild irritant, and I am much less prone to that irritation when we get cards from much older relatives that call me Mrs. or use just my husband�s last name.

J has taken to opening cards addressed like the ones above before I come home and putting the envelopes in the recycling. One night I had my revenge though when a card arrived for Shawna and J with just my last name. Yesss! He suddenly empathized a lot more with my point of view I�ll tell you, even though it was mitigated with a �(tee hee)� after the names. But I digress�

Only overshadowed by the wedding was the fact that I sold the other unit in my mini housing development (the second day in to a trip to the west coast � that trip was certainly less relaxing than we�d been anticipating). So we now live in the one unit I built and have neighbours in the other. They seem nice, and their Bichon Havanese (the cutest dog I�ve ever seen) makes me glad I soundproofed the wall between us well.

Other things this year, well, I finished up my ultra-cool job at the last place and started my current one. This one isn�t as cool (really, how could it be when compared to saving habitat for endangered species, having the coolest, most fun manager and coworkers, rubbing elbows with some of the most prominent land appraisers in the country, jetting around the country and attending conferences full of impassioned environmentalists?), but it�s definitely a worthwhile glimpse into the workings of the government and I�ll be a better manager for having done it.

I suppose that�s it for 2003. I think 2002 had the edge in being the watershed year in my life since I both met J at the beginning and got engaged to him by the end, did a whole whack of interesting stuff for my job that I started mid-year and watched the demolition of the old house I bought and went through all the stages from breaking ground for the construction of my semi-detached, to moving in, and with J(!), in the fall. Still, 2003 was very good to me and I expect that next year my life will continue to progress apace.

Happy New Year! Bring on 2004!

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland