With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Doctors and babies and needles, oh my.

2003-11-10 - 10:12 a.m.

So, the doctor�s.

Yep, it was a �heavy� day and my highest weight ever has now been inked into my file. I suppose I had been mentally resigned to it and she didn�t make any kind of fuss about it. She may have if it had been all fat but since I�ve got a visible mass of muscle on me and can run 10k in under an hour she wasn�t particularly worried.

We did, however, talk babies. As I had semi-expected, she told me that if I and my husband definitely want kids, her advice would be not to wait to start trying. It�s a medical fact that it becomes harder to conceive the older you get and at 31 if it turns out that there�s any kind of problem, finding out early gives us valuable time to try solve it (if we can). This is in line with the opinion I�d already formed based on what I�d heard about the topic. I have friends that scoff about how it�s silly and you can have kids right into your late 30s and early 40s but even if you technically can, I have never thought it was the best of ideas. My background is biology and I know that, biologically speaking, just because you can doesn�t mean it�s ideal in terms of your body, your ability to conceive, or the risks that you are exposed to.

I still got a prescription refill for my Pill and brought this advice home to J to discuss. The knee-jerk reaction to this sort of advice is, �Now or never? Better be now!� but our thinking has evolved over the weekend to �sooner� as opposed to either �later� or even �now�. That little bit of extra time could make a big difference in terms of where we both are in our jobs.

In the meantime, I�m starting the way I always do whenever I face the prospect of embarking on anything new � I�m researching. How much folic acid should I take? When should I start taking it? What foods should I think about eating more of? Can I keep teaching weightlifting if I get pregnant? If so, for how long and should I lighten up on the weights? What are the details of maternity benefits I�d be entitled to? That sort of thing.

Hm. I started out to talk about my insane fear of needles and how the doctor decided this would be a good time to get my cholesterol checked and do the test for rubella immunity (which they do if they get a chance for women thinking of becoming pregnant) but I got side-tracked. I guess the whole baby thing is more at the forefront of my mind at the moment (to be fair, as would anything I�m in the throes of researching). And it�s not that interesting a story as this was probably the easiest blood-letting I�ve ever experienced. That nurse was amazingly good and I didn�t even feel her change the three vials around on the needle-sleeve, or whatever it�s called. I also wasn�t as insanely nervous and chattery as I normally get (I�m a nervous talker, y�see). Maybe I�m getting used to this sort of thing. The first time I had blood drawn was only a few years ago and I was queen freakout; talking a mile-a-minute before and during and laughing like a hyena with relief when it was over. I can�t imagine what people in the waiting room thought at the peals of semi-hysterical laughter rolling from the nurses station.

I understand that expectant mothers are treated like pincushions so I may have a lot more of this sort of thing to look forward to if/when we go for it.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland