With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Sour grapes make quite the whine.

2003-10-24 - 2:21 p.m.

Somebody kindly sent me a copy of a negative JournalCon entry posted by Abbycat (I won�t link because it�s password protected on his site so you wouldn�t be able to read it anyway) and whoa. That entry certainly has some parts that would bite if you got your fingers too close to �em, and I can see why it was password protected if two of the three comments posted are any indication of the feedback this guy got.

The gist of the parts that angered is: Journallers booze it up too much, undeservedly deify themselves and other journallers, and are ragingly insecure.

I can�t say I have the angry reaction others do but it�s a lot more distant from me as I wasn�t there. If I�d been somewhere and had a great time and seen almost everyone around me having a great time, I�m sure I�d feel compelled to defend it when someone else attacked it. I have seen his attitude towards people that are happy and outgoing before a couple of times, and I�ve seen his attitude toward drinking, and the people that do it, much more often. Why do those not having a good time sometimes feel the need to cut down the people who are?

Alas, much as I�d love to go to JournalCon, I suspect that I�d be looking like this guy probably looked; sober and on the fringe a bit. It wouldn�t be because I wanted to seem that way, I�m just not a drinker (migraines, as I�ve mentioned before) and I�m much more socially deft in small groups than in large noisy gatherings (where I�m socially deaf, not deft; seriously, how does everyone else manage to follow a conversation in a noisy bar? It is totally beyond me. But I digress�). I used to think that, because I was outgoing and liked people, I should like large groups but I've since realized that it's just not my ideal social scene. I prefer a divide and conquer approach I guess. Still, I�d like to think I�d have fun and maybe even get up the nerve to do one karaoke number, and come home with happy stories to recount.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland