With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Not about, as it turns out, my birthday

2003-10-10 - 10:29 a.m.

Yesterday was a low-key birthday, but not an unpleasant one. Though most people didn�t manage to reach me directly, I got messages from most of my family, including my new outlaws, I went over to my friend Arty�s house to watch Survivor and he and J served me flaming doughnuts in lieu of a cake. This might not suit everyone for birthday celebrations, but with Thanksgiving taking Arty out of town to his family�s this weekend, it was my only chance to get together with him. I have a few friends that won�t be making it out to dinner tonight actually, though a few of them are going to weddings instead of to see family.

Fortunately there will be a few people left in town who are stoked about going for Chinese tonight and I�m looking forward to it. My friends are a motley crew in that they lead very different lives and most of them don�t know each other very well. They would probably never have met each other if they didn�t know me. After all, where would, for example, a Lesbian Artist, a Military Exercise Junkie, a Vegetarian Birkenstock-wearing Environmentalist, and a Salsa Dancing Techie cross paths with each other and with my local friend from university or my homebody friend from high school or my ultra-conservative Nixon-fan friend from work? Despite that, they come together very well when I manage to engineer a group outing. I suspect that it has something to do with the fact that they are all fabulous, kind, friendly, accepting, interesting people. That�s why they�re my friends and many of them have been around long enough to see me through good times and bad.

At my wedding two months and one day ago, J and I asked people, instead of clinking glasses to make the bride and groom kiss, to get up and share a story about one or both of us; stories that would help the friends and relatives that didn�t know one of us that well to understand what it was about that one that made the other one want to marry them. And I have to tell you, it was amazing the stories that came out, though I have to confess that the bulk of the more colourful ones were about me (I dare say because I�ve probably done more colourful things while J is, and always has been, the steady, dependable rock). I�m not going to repeat any of them verbatim but the ones about me ranged from my oldest friend illustrating my love of interesting words through a hilarious quiz, to having J�s 70-something uncle announce to the crowd that I�ve �got balls�. We all spent the whole meal laughing. I don�t understand all those people and wedding magazines strategizing to keep the speeches to a minimum.

My friends are so cool.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland