With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

The beginning of an era.

2010-09-16 - 11:21 p.m.

Yesterday was Grommet�s phase-in day at Junior Kindergarten. Today she was her first day with her whole class (of 27 kids � 4 over the legal limit of 23 � but that�s another story). We had to pack a snack in her brand-new Bento-style lunch box, and make sure she had the required extra set of clothes and indoor shoes. We�d already dropped off the glue sticks, activity fee, etc. at the meet-the-teacher day last week.

J and I took time off from work to walk with her from her daycare. She patiently let us take a whole bunch of pictures at the drop-off gate, then went into the play yard to join the other kids on the play structures for 15 minutes, then they all lined up with their teachers to enter their classrooms. She was at the front of the line and was so intent on what she�d find when she got inside that she disappeared without a backwards glance for her parents. The last picture I have of her is the last glimpse of her Spiderman* backpack disappearing into the school.

When asked about her day she described a couple of other children, but when asked if she found out any of their names she said no, Emmaline was in her class and she didn�t need any other friends. It�s been suggested that it�d be a good idea to learn some names today and she�s agreed to do it. Like most youngsters, she was pretty vague on details so I don�t know a lot about what she did on her first day, but she said she loved school and that�s the main thing.

My little baby is growing up. *Sniff*

::

* I had a secret fear that she�d come home from the first day and declare that Spiderman and dinosaurs were for boys and demand that we get some princess stuff. So far that hasn�t happened. I�m keeping my fingers crossed that it never does.

::

Can�t get enough of me? I�ve got a recent entry up at Kids in the Capital with another in the hopper. And don�t forget to check out my sporadically-updated photo blog for the odd written piece, or my Flickr account if it�s pics you�re after.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland