With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

A day in the life.

2010-05-21 - 12:26 p.m.

I wake up to the Biscuit bleating for his bottle, then Grommet runs in for a quick morning cuddle and we all settle in under the blanket for a few minutes. And then�

Roll out of bed; brush hair, office clothes on, don�t forget to throw the lanyard holding my bus and security passes over my head. Now for the kids: layers, so that as the cool morning phases into the hot afternoon they can peel down. Grommet, please get dressed sweetheart. Biscuit: onesie with snaps or t-shirt? Pants? Are these Capri-length cloth pants handed down from your sister too girly? Hope not because they�re the perfect weight for this spring weather, so on they go. Grommet, get dressed please, your clothes are right there. There! Beside your turtle! Let�s see: extra swimsuits in case it�s hot enough to run through the sprinkler at daycare; extra clothes in case someone gets pee on themselves because either their diaper isn�t changed soon enough or they can�t quite make it to the potty because they were so busy and excited doing other things they let it go too long; sheets and pillowcases I washed over the weekend and blankets I didn�t (why does she send them home every week? I don�t wash blankets after only 4 days light use for naptime only.); extra diapers and wipes for the diaper bag; plastic tub of snacks for grouchy car passengers; bottle of organic whole milk for Biscuit. Grommet, get dressed right now young lady! We have to get going! I�ll meet you downstairs for breakfast. Grab some cereal � dry for Biscuit, with milk for Grommet � and pick a fruit to try to tempt them with. Thank you for getting dressed now eat your breakfast. Sigh when they ignore the fruit. No, you can only bring one toy each in the car. Okay two but that�s it. Put my wallet and phone in my pockets. Get your shoes on please. Shoes on. Grab the first toy you see, then get your shoes on! Yes, you can wear your sandals. Great! Now try to help your brother to get his sandals on, I�ll load the car. Are we ready to go? You�re right, we need sweaters; I�ll grab them. Here you go, I�ll get Biscuit�s on, you can do yours and I�ll help you with the zipper if you need me to. One hand, then the other, good boy! Can you click yourself in Grommet? Wow, good girl! You�re getting so big! Okay, we�re off!

� and that�s just to get out of the house. After that there�s the breathless drop-off at daycare, complete with endless hugs and sometimes a few tears from the toddler who�s used to his mumma being around all day by the end of the weekend. Then it�s off the switch cars and catch the bus at the park �n ride, do my more than an hour bus commute, do a full day of work at the office, head home by bus again (unless it�s Tuesday, when I go straight to teach my class at the gym and get home too late to really interact with the kids that night), grab a bite of whatever dinner is in progress that my amazing husband managed to throw together, take the kids out to play on the playset, possibly baths, teeth brushed, books, bedtime cuddles and goodnights. After which I can turn on the computer to do things like write blog entries, check personal and photography-related email, process photos, and keep up with administrative stuff like taxes or, this week, forms for our home warranty. Brush teeth, hit the hay, and be ready to start again the next morning.

It�s a busy life, but it�s mine and I love it. I know that I would never be able to do this balancing act and incorporate everything that�s important to me if it weren�t for my rock-solid husband: not a day goes by I don�t think how lucky I am.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland